Herman Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
HERMAN STARTER---On the fifth day of dividing the starter I chose to make pancakes with the discarded starter. Wow! I was really impressed with the pancakes. Never have I eaten such delicious sweet sourdough pancakes. I have used other soughdough starters in making pancakes but I have never been able to produce such light and airy pancakes. These pancakes were brimming with flavor and are delicious eaten cold, with butter and jam. I don't like left over pancakes normally I discard them but Herman's pancakes can be eaten cold or plain with or without syrup, butter and jam. I'm really pleased with the Herman starter. NOTE---Herman sweet sourdough starter can be used for baking any time after the 5th day. It's not necessary to wait 15 days. Start using it after the 5th day. This starter is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
Herman is the best! I have used it in all sorts of recipes and am so glad to keep the old fashioned starter alive. Herman Cake made great gifts for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
Sourdough starters are a lot of work, but the results are well worth the wait. This recipe makes such a thick and creamy starter. My family is very excited every 10 days when I get to whip up a batch of fresh sourdough bread. My starter isn't even very mature yet, I think I started it about 2 months ago, and every time I use it, it gets better and better. Try this starter with the San Francisco Sourdough recipe on this website. The combination is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
I love the recipe and adapted a recipe to make raisin bread in my bread oven with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Haven't seen this recipe for years but it is awesome! You can do so much with it like make pancakes, coffee cakes, buscuits, anything is possible. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Great for home made bread, you can just put it in the freg. and make bread when needed. Also it makes a great looking bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2000
I've been trying to find this recipe since I was a girl and was given a starter by a friend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
The starter smells wonderful, but when it came to making the bread, it came out quite bland. Made the apartment building smell like a brewery, but is a nice smell. Not sure if I did something wrong with the starter, or if I just need to add some fresh sugar to the bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
i love this recipes. i moved over 1200 with out my recipe book and the first thing i looked for online was this one. it is easy and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
So far my starter is doing well.Now going on day 8. I'm in no rush. Nice texture.Full of bubbles and the smell is very aromatic. I leave mine out on the counter,so I feed mine every day. Waiting for my 11-in. Round La Cloche Brick Oven by Sassafras to come in. Then I'll make my first loaf of San Fransico Sourdough Bread ( a secret recipe from my dad while in the navy (WWII),while in San Diego. Will do a series on it. Story and pics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjordanlmj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States