Herman Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This is a very cool recipe! I am at day nine and hope to bake bread this weekend ! This Starter is the same as I used 35 years ago! I have made the started for Chef John's San Francisco bread and it is not very tasty yet! I will keep trying both for a while ! Thank you! Hope to have a good bread recipe in the next six days! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Fernando, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This sourdough starter makes the BEST sourdough. I just made sourdough bread for the first time and I really, really love it. I hope to keep this thing alive for generations. It reminds me of baking with my grandfather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cz375hh
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Our Herman is about 2 months old now and he is a keeper.Herman like coffee is a smell that I can not get enough of. If you need culture [pardon the pun]in your life Herman is the healthy way to go. Herman pancakes and the San Fran sour dough bread on this site are our 2 favorites of all in their class type and the rolls are OK but not as good as french baguettes. Cinnamon rolls, monkey bread, sticky buns, and all that other healthy stuff is a must try in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cz375hh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Yep, this one is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I double the recipe in the bread machine and then last rise and bake in two loaf pans. I use molasses, instead of honey. Add vital wheat gluten. Egg the top and sprinkle some raw oatmeal on top and it is a show stopper both taste and looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Yuk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Good sourdough starter! Basic and still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my6kids

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fowler, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eureka, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
tried it a couple of times and like it a lot! the starter gives my bread pleasant smell and my pancake interesting texture. but since i don't have much time to bake, I discard the previous starter for several time...just learned that i don't need to follow the instruction strictly.. wish i know this earlier...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
have used this recipe for over 20 years and it also makes a wonderful cinnamon roll-the pancakes are really delish made with this starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
my starter is now 3months old and gives me great breads! love it! when doing research i learned that this starter is VERY forgiving....you dont have to stir and feed as often as it says...only in the begining. other than that...i feed when i need more and stir when i think about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamelascakes

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States