Herman Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This Herman starter is wonderful! I have used it for years, however, someone forgot to give the recipe for the cinnamon bread that the dough was made for. (Just use the Amish Friendship bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
i love this recipes. i moved over 1200 with out my recipe book and the first thing i looked for online was this one. it is easy and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Haven't seen this recipe for years but it is awesome! You can do so much with it like make pancakes, coffee cakes, buscuits, anything is possible. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
THis was a very sweet starter. I tried three different recipes using this starter and all of them were too sugary. I will also be trying a starter that calls for MUCH less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
The starter smells wonderful, but when it came to making the bread, it came out quite bland. Made the apartment building smell like a brewery, but is a nice smell. Not sure if I did something wrong with the starter, or if I just need to add some fresh sugar to the bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Fiance and I thought this was ok. It is a VERY SWEET starter and not what I expected. Would probably be good for pancakes, sweet rolls, etc but I can't imagine making a sourdough bread with this starter. I used one cup and threw the rest out. I am going to try again with a starter that doesn't need so much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
HERMAN STARTER---On the fifth day of dividing the starter I chose to make pancakes with the discarded starter. Wow! I was really impressed with the pancakes. Never have I eaten such delicious sweet sourdough pancakes. I have used other soughdough starters in making pancakes but I have never been able to produce such light and airy pancakes. These pancakes were brimming with flavor and are delicious eaten cold, with butter and jam. I don't like left over pancakes normally I discard them but Herman's pancakes can be eaten cold or plain with or without syrup, butter and jam. I'm really pleased with the Herman starter. NOTE---Herman sweet sourdough starter can be used for baking any time after the 5th day. It's not necessary to wait 15 days. Start using it after the 5th day. This starter is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
Sourdough starters are a lot of work, but the results are well worth the wait. This recipe makes such a thick and creamy starter. My family is very excited every 10 days when I get to whip up a batch of fresh sourdough bread. My starter isn't even very mature yet, I think I started it about 2 months ago, and every time I use it, it gets better and better. Try this starter with the San Francisco Sourdough recipe on this website. The combination is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
What a pain this recipe was. On the 15th day I felt like I needed to bake as many sourdough things as possible before the window closed for another week and a half. There are starters that are ready to use anytime after they've fermented. I think I'll stick to one of those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Great for home made bread, you can just put it in the freg. and make bread when needed. Also it makes a great looking bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States