Herman Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
my starter is now 3months old and gives me great breads! love it! when doing research i learned that this starter is VERY forgiving....you dont have to stir and feed as often as it says...only in the begining. other than that...i feed when i need more and stir when i think about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamelascakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I'm starting a Herman right now! I agree with one of the previous commenters; there is NO NEED to wait all that time to start using Herman. After the 5th day, he is ready to go. Just use your discarded starter to start baking! Giving this recipe 4 stars just based on that one discrepancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This is an amazing sweet Starter. I keep mine in the fridge in a plastic container I got online from King Arthur Flour and I feed it and use it every week. It's wonderful! So far I've made Pancakes and Cinnamon Rolls with it and they've come out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
i ues this for amish friendship bread!great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
i tried a different rcipe but this one is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconto Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Love herman I grew up on Herman we made everything we could think of rolls, buns. cookies even I might do this again if I am not to lazy to feed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trudy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
So far my starter is doing well.Now going on day 8. I'm in no rush. Nice texture.Full of bubbles and the smell is very aromatic. I leave mine out on the counter,so I feed mine every day. Waiting for my 11-in. Round La Cloche Brick Oven by Sassafras to come in. Then I'll make my first loaf of San Fransico Sourdough Bread ( a secret recipe from my dad while in the navy (WWII),while in San Diego. Will do a series on it. Story and pics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjordanlmj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This is my first starter, how do I know that it is still alive? I'm following the instructions, but just wondering how I will know if it dies??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
this is my first attempt at using a starter, or even having one! I am amazed at the flavor of this! I used it in making my very first loaf of bread ever baked, I made the San Francisco Sourdough Bread... I cannot give this starter enough stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samanthalynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This Herman starter is wonderful! I have used it for years, however, someone forgot to give the recipe for the cinnamon bread that the dough was made for. (Just use the Amish Friendship bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States