Herman Reunion Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
This makes a good cheeseball, but not the greatest one I've ever had; average flavor, nothing to write home about! If you make it, I recommend you scale the recipe down. I ended up for 3 large (could have been 4 medium) sized cheeseballs, and unless you're entertaining an army, you don't need that much!! Even though I had softened my cream cheese, the mixture really taxed my food processor. And the pecan and parsley mixture didn't adhere to the frozen cheeseballs, so I had to bring them back to room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I just served this at my mom-in-law's surprise 50th b-day party and it was a hit. I ommitted the nuts and parsley and instead shaped them into an apple (rolled in paprika), pear (rolled in parmesan dyed green) and orange (rolled in parmesan dyed yellow). I used whole cloves for stems (sticking out for apple and pear and in for the orange). They were so cute! And they were quite easy to make, it took a bit to get the mixture to combine in the food processor but I think that my cream cheese wasn't soft enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Quick and easy. Using the freezer to firm the cheese ball is a great idea. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out delicious. I recommend scaling it to 8 servings to get the perfect size cheese ball for a small party. You may want to play with the different brands of hot pepper sauce available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I cut this recipe by 1/3 to make one cheeseball, using 1 package of cream cheese. (Scale the recipe to 4 servings to do this....although one cheeseball should be way more than only 4 servings!). This is a really good cheeseball. Like another reviewer, I added a squeeze of mustard (spicy brown). It was very easy to make too, and I didnt' use the freezer at all, but rather the fridge for a few minutes. Served with Trader Joe's pepper poppyseed water crackers, and it was great! Great for New Year's, and much better than the other recipe I was using! I love the sharp cheddar in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I doubled the seasonings in this recipe because it tasted bland the way it's written. Served it as an appetizer for Thanksgiving. Everyone there loved it. Someone even said it was addictive. I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzy
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This was a very good base recipe. I only used one package of cream cheese to make one ball, and added 1 tsp of dijon mustard and almost the same amount of the other ingredients so it would not taste too bland. I also added about 4 TBS of butter and it was heaven! I rolled the ball in the parsley and nuts before putting it in the fridge as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
Everyone loved this cheese ball! It will be added to the holiday recipe list. I let the cheese and cream cheese get to room temp. before mixing and was able to fix it in no time. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I used only 1 1/2 pkg. cream cheese but kept all other ingredients the same due to comments regarding it being bland. Also added some freshly snipped chives. I didn't freeze; just rolled in pecans and fresh parsley, wrapped it up and placed in fridge. Absolutely wonderful! Great flavors after sitting in fridge all afternoon. I rated it four stars since it would have been a bit bland using the three blocks of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I set this out for our BBQ and unfortunately no one touched it. After one person finally got into it...they wouldn't leave it alone. Hubby was glad that there was some left over and has been snacking on it ever since. Only thing I will do differently next time is to reduce the amount of garlic a little bit...it was a bit strong for us. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Everyone loved this at a family gathering. This really turned out good. I doubled the spices though, and added chopped bell peppers. So easy to make and it looks great. The family are asking me to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States