Herman Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I followed the recipe and the results were excellent! My current sourdough is a whole wheat sourdough which added enough whole wheat to make the pancakes look rustic. This recipe is perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
My husband is still raving over these. I followed the recipes and only made a few changes based on what I had on hand. I used buttermilk instead of regular milk, my starter from the frig,vanilla and blueberries. I will definitely be making these everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I used Alaskan sourdough, buckwheat flour and milk kefir. Lightest, best pancakes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
great find! I certainly can use a new recipe other than bread to dispose of my sourdough starter, and these pancakes are light and fluffy into the bargain! my kids proclaimed it a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
fast,easy, and so yummy.!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I have been on this site for years and tried many recipes, but never ever felt the need to leave a response and give out stars! This is THE BEST PANCAKE recipe EVER! i am new to sourdough, i have always been a little intimidated by it but yesterday i made a starter from a different site and i really wanted to try it out because it had already set up! I only changed one thing and that was to add 1tsp of vanilla extract. They seriously were light, fluffy, and melt in your mouth! I will never use store bought again! Also, for anyone that doesn't know, cook them with no butter or grease in the pan and on medium low. They will not burn then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maharet21

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I wanted to add a heads to my previous 5 star ratings remarks. Make sure your Herman or similar starter is not cold and just out of the refrigerator. My second batch took a turn for the worst because of this. The batter acted differently and instead of an even spread of bubbles appearing as it cooked followed by the flip to reveal a golden brown cake--the bubbles in this case were sporadic and the cake burned quickly regardless of the lowered burner plate temperature.Enjoy these are worth the learning curve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cz375hh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
These were delicious and I would give this recipe a 5 but I changed a couple things and I didn't use herman's sourdough starter. First I doubled the recipe, added half the amount of milk because we like thick batter and added some spice(vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg). I used a wild yeast starter. But I found them very good. It wasn't overwhelming with sourdough taste and they were nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I tried this, not thrilled with the amount of sugar in it, but I wanted to try it with the starter. It was somewhat bland. I think adding vanilla might perk it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I am new to using sourdough. This tastes even better then anything I've had in a restaurant & I actually made it! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States