Herman Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Light and fluffy with a mild sourdough flavor. I made a double recipe the night before and let it sit for about 20 minutes before cooking. Turned out great and the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Shaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Holy these are good. I have been searching for the perfect pancake recipe for forever and just happened to stumble upon this one by accident. I was simply looking for a new way to use my sourdough starter other than make sourdough bread and decided to try these. The texture is wonderful and the sourdough adds a nice subtle zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
so long to the box. can't say i'll miss it. this is the best pancake mix i have ever tried. thank you js
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryson City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
These pancakes were delicious! I added a teaspoon of vanilla for a little extra flavor. My first couple burned because the heat was way too high. I turned it down to med. and the rest were allright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kiel, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Wow! This recipe is amazing! I was skeptical of the idea of sourdough pancakes at first, but I absolutely love these! I only made one change - I used my own sourdough starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
these were great. I used the last of my herman to make this. I decided to use all my herman because I didn't really like any of the things I was making with him but now I wish I had some herman left. these pancakes had a nice yeasty taste and weere light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I used a regular sourdough starter and based on the comments of others, added 1/2 cup of bran to thicken up the mixture (and add some fibre). A really nice tasting pancake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sambro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kiss the cook
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Wonderful flavor! The kids begged for more. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiss the cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
These were incredible. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
These were the best pancakes ever. I find the vegetable oil to be a little heavy tasting though, so I tend to substitute with apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States