Herman Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Amazing! I make as many as possible at once, because, even though they are really filling, the leftovers still taste about as good as the originals! I like to eat them warm with peanut butter, and my 16 month old son loves them too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
These are really good. Good way to use starter if you are not planning on making bread. I used another starter not Herman's starter. Used just 1 TBSP of oil, 1/3 cup of sweetened applesauce, omitted sugar and added 1 tsp of vanilla extract. For the flour, used 1/2 cup of oat flour and 1/2 cup of wheat flour. Very good pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This is THE BEST pancake I've ever had! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used the sourdough starter I already had. I made my starter about two years ago from the concord grapes growing in my yard. That was the only thing that I changed in this recipe. Thanks for this DELICIOUS recipe!!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA CAROL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Great..I've experimented with different extracts,rasins,cinnamon,ect. Always come out great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookn bob

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Great pancakes! I made them with my starter that I use to make San Fran. sourdough bread and my guests were so happy! Great recipe, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This is a keeper. These puffed up nice. I added a grated gala apple, and 1 tsp Cinnamon, 1 tsp vanilla. Although I used 1 cup Sourdough Starter, without sugar. Amish Starter is the new Herman Starter. And I think Herman changed it's name LOL. Good Recipe that is for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
These turned out wonderfully well. I'm personally not a fan of pancakes, but my children love them. I had 3 cups of Herman to use up, so I figured I'd make a giant batch. After the first pancake was done, I tried it, just to sample the flavor. i was impressed. I won't be buying pancakes miz anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Yummy! I did add some vanilla extract like another reviewer suggested. My husband and I loved these pancakes. I had to stake my claim or he would have eaten them all. Next time I plan to add something extra like chocolate chips or blueberries for variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Holy these are good. I have been searching for the perfect pancake recipe for forever and just happened to stumble upon this one by accident. I was simply looking for a new way to use my sourdough starter other than make sourdough bread and decided to try these. The texture is wonderful and the sourdough adds a nice subtle zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
These were good, used my Herman starter.. I got too much sourdough flavor for my taste. But was a good, fluffy pancake... probably would try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook4you

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States