Herman Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
I was looking for an easy yet tasty sourdough dinner roll, and happened upon this recipe. My family wants them all the time now! They are tender and simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzannaS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2000
I loved these rolls! I used a little extra flour, and they were still light and flavorful. Will definately use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
My family enjoyed these rolls. They are so easy to make with your starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
Wonderful dinner roll. Moist and soft. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
These rolls had a very good flavor, but I was not crazy about the texture. They were a little to heavy for my taste. When I buttered them, they became very doughy. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sedgewickville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ellie may
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I am new to Sourdough Starter, this is the first time I had my starter work so I wanted to get going with something easy, and this recipe was all that. Thanks to the reviewer who mentioned bringing the starter to room temp first. I made only 8 rolls, covered them with oiled saran wrap, stuck in the laundry room out of drafts, and let them sit for 45 minutes. Then I baked them in a lightly oiled cast iron skillet! Look at my purty photo! We tore into these babies like wild hounds. My friend who was here at the time ate three of them loaded with cold butter and preserves, apologizing that she simply couldn't stop. Thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Easy to make with starter, but didn't like the texture. Seemed more like a biscuit than a dinner roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Excellent, tender and light. But I did bake them longer than the recipe indicated -- just till they got brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Fantastic recipe. Only thing I did different is to let the herman sourdough come to room temp before adding the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Wow!! easy to make, tender,tasty....awesome! good way to use my friendship starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States