Herman Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2000
We used this as an after-school snack cake. It went over pretty well, but will not be a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
This is one of the best coffee cake recipes I have enjoyed eating/making. It came out moist, and wasn't dry days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2001
My Family loved this cake including four small children
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Excellent coffee cake. I halved the recipe for my husband & me -- fits an 8x8x2 pan. After it was cool we cut it in portions to freeze. About 14 seconds in the microwave works super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
This recipe was wonderful. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
Wow, this was really good...and I usually don't like coffee cakes at all. I don't really like raisins so I omitted those, and I mixed the chopped nuts with the topping instead of mixing them with the cake batter... Other than that, I didn't make any changes. The cake rose a LOT during baking...it turned out very light and fluffy. My husband, who normally eats like a bird, ate 2 pieces. I'll definitely be making more of this! ~K
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This cake did not work at all for me. I guess my starter is a bit different, so maybe that was the problem. My batter was extremely runny and the topping sunk down into it, so it took a long time to bake and even then the consistency was weird. Any help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
The best coffee cake that i have ever made !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This coffee cake was good but I have made better ones without Herman starter. I did make a few changes. I ran out of sugar so I only used a 1/4 cup of sugar in the cake mix and I am glad I did because it had just the right amount of sweetness. I also cut the glaze in half and only used it on half of the cake. My husband like the sweet glazed half, I liked the unglazed half because the crumb topping stayed crispy and it was sweet enough without the glaze. If i make this again i will add instant vanilla pudding to the cake mix to get a moister cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is an excellent coffee cake! I used Splenda brown sugar for the topping and it turned out very well. The longer this cake sits the better it gets... by the 3rd day it was still moist and tasted better then the first day. I'm now baking these in 6" bundt pans. Once the topping gets solid I put them on plates and freeze them, then vacuum seal them and will be giving them out for Christmas gifts. My next batch I might hold off on the topping and do that once I take them out to thaw closer to Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States