Herman Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This was excellent! I didn't have any pecans on hand and skipped the glaze but it was very good without. This will be my go to recipe to use up my bread starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-Jane Nash
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I did play around with this recipe a little bit. I reduced the sugar in the batter to 2/3 cup I added 1 large eating apple, chopped and 1 large eating apple grated I reduced the nuts to half a cup and scattered them over the top after baking I reduced the topping by 50% Added extra cinnamon to the topping I drizzled an icing glaze over the finished cake This cake was seriously yummy - has to be in my top 3 cakes of all time . This recipe is a true keeper ! I baked in two 8" square silicone pans at 160deg c fan oven for 30 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Loved this coffee cake!! I did not use the sweet starter, instead I used one that only started with a tablespoon of sugar. But, it turned out great! Tip-do not pour all of the glaze on top of the bread. Instead, save some to warm up later and pour a dollop on top of the cake slice and it tastes as good as it does right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was Great! I used walnuts and added vanilla to the glaze. We love it with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I made this with 2 cups of Amish Friendship bread starter on baking day. I used 1/2 the glaze amount called for in this recipe. It was absolutely amazing!!! I liked it better than the regular Friendship Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
so-so at best. I found that this recipe had *way* too much sugar. So far this is my least favorite coffee cake of the ones I have made. If I do it again (and I doubt I will) I would use half the sugar, or maybe eliminate it all togethr and up the honey a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
So so good. A favorite in this house. Sometimes I put sliced peaches in the batter and use the peach juice for the glaze. Super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bigmommahill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I have been making this coffee cake for probably 30 years and still love it. Because it's so sweet I use just powdered sugar mixed with milk for the glaze. It gives it a great appearance without adding a whole lot more fat/sugar and still allows the topping to remain crispy. Our favorite variations include 3 cups of cut up apples along with the nuts and raisins or a large can of cut up peaches and the nuts. I also use a little more cinnamon - 2 t. For best flavor it is best to make the coffee cake a day ahead. The flavor becomes more intense as the days pass. The secret to success with the Herman starter is to keep it at room temperature and to avoid using metal spoons or bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janisko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This recipe, minus the glaze, is a staple I grew up on. When I grew up, it took me years to track down the Herman starter again & still after all those years, the memory of this coffee cake made my mouth water! Now I make it on a regular basis for my family & more & more friends after they've tried it. It's amazing with the glaze! A few variations I've tried- adding 1-2c. diced apples (dusted in flour & cinnamon) to the batter mixture. I've changed out 1c. flour for whole wheat flour & it only slightly lowered the sweet bite, couldn't even tell ;-) I also have tried it with raw sugar, opposed to the white sugar, & it didn't affect the final texture as raw sugar normally does. The topping for this cake is supposed to sink down into the batter as it bakes, as that adds the swirls of intense flavor to the cake. I always use a couple toothpicks & swirl the topping into the surface of the batter a bit, to even it out more. If your sourdough starter is too runny, it will make the final batter wetter, all you need to do is add a bit more flour to the batter until it resembles a thick brownie batter, or the like. OR, if you're already cooking it & realize- just bake it another 5min at a time until the center stops jiggling & you can slide a toothpick out of the center (not in a cinnamon swirl) clean. All in all, this recipe is very forgiving & very agreeable to experimenting with variations! It's definitely a favorite around here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This coffeecake was a complete failure. I had planned to take this to a potluck, but the weird texture just just too much to inflict on friends. We thought it had a bread pudding texture that was not what I expected or wanted. My other comment is that the glaze is complete overkill. It made my favorite feature of coffee cake, the crumb topping, a mess. It totally obliterated it into a mushy slop that made it seem like it was undercooked. I agree with another reviewer's comments about texture. If you can get past the texture the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States