Herman Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I love this recipe! I love that I have one more way to use my herman starter. I changed out the pecans for walnuts and added 1Tbs. molasses to the brown sugar topping mixture. Thank you so much for the excellent recipe! So says my wife but I don't like it says me, the husband and the real critic of foods. Oh how I long for Pilsbury swirly things with chemicals and sugar, sugar, sugar. Shouldn't leave these things open for your husbands to get in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
So gooey and cinnaminny! Tastes like I'm eatin a Cinnabon cinnamin roll! I omitted the raisins. I used walnuts instead of pecans. In the filling I added half of the nuts. After pouring in the batter in the dish, I topped it off with the rest of the walnuts. I used butter instead of margarine too. Make sure your sourdough starter is at room temperature. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
This is one of the best coffee cake recipes I have enjoyed eating/making. It came out moist, and wasn't dry days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2001
My Family loved this cake including four small children
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Excellent coffee cake. I halved the recipe for my husband & me -- fits an 8x8x2 pan. After it was cool we cut it in portions to freeze. About 14 seconds in the microwave works super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
This recipe was wonderful. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
Wow, this was really good...and I usually don't like coffee cakes at all. I don't really like raisins so I omitted those, and I mixed the chopped nuts with the topping instead of mixing them with the cake batter... Other than that, I didn't make any changes. The cake rose a LOT during baking...it turned out very light and fluffy. My husband, who normally eats like a bird, ate 2 pieces. I'll definitely be making more of this! ~K
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This cake did not work at all for me. I guess my starter is a bit different, so maybe that was the problem. My batter was extremely runny and the topping sunk down into it, so it took a long time to bake and even then the consistency was weird. Any help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
The best coffee cake that i have ever made !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is an excellent coffee cake! I used Splenda brown sugar for the topping and it turned out very well. The longer this cake sits the better it gets... by the 3rd day it was still moist and tasted better then the first day. I'm now baking these in 6" bundt pans. Once the topping gets solid I put them on plates and freeze them, then vacuum seal them and will be giving them out for Christmas gifts. My next batch I might hold off on the topping and do that once I take them out to thaw closer to Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States