Herman Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Excellent coffee cake. I halved the recipe for my husband & me -- fits an 8x8x2 pan. After it was cool we cut it in portions to freeze. About 14 seconds in the microwave works super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
This is one of the best coffee cake recipes I have enjoyed eating/making. It came out moist, and wasn't dry days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
So gooey and cinnaminny! Tastes like I'm eatin a Cinnabon cinnamin roll! I omitted the raisins. I used walnuts instead of pecans. In the filling I added half of the nuts. After pouring in the batter in the dish, I topped it off with the rest of the walnuts. I used butter instead of margarine too. Make sure your sourdough starter is at room temperature. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2000
We used this as an after-school snack cake. It went over pretty well, but will not be a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This recipe, minus the glaze, is a staple I grew up on. When I grew up, it took me years to track down the Herman starter again & still after all those years, the memory of this coffee cake made my mouth water! Now I make it on a regular basis for my family & more & more friends after they've tried it. It's amazing with the glaze! A few variations I've tried- adding 1-2c. diced apples (dusted in flour & cinnamon) to the batter mixture. I've changed out 1c. flour for whole wheat flour & it only slightly lowered the sweet bite, couldn't even tell ;-) I also have tried it with raw sugar, opposed to the white sugar, & it didn't affect the final texture as raw sugar normally does. The topping for this cake is supposed to sink down into the batter as it bakes, as that adds the swirls of intense flavor to the cake. I always use a couple toothpicks & swirl the topping into the surface of the batter a bit, to even it out more. If your sourdough starter is too runny, it will make the final batter wetter, all you need to do is add a bit more flour to the batter until it resembles a thick brownie batter, or the like. OR, if you're already cooking it & realize- just bake it another 5min at a time until the center stops jiggling & you can slide a toothpick out of the center (not in a cinnamon swirl) clean. All in all, this recipe is very forgiving & very agreeable to experimenting with variations! It's definitely a favorite around here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
Wow, this was really good...and I usually don't like coffee cakes at all. I don't really like raisins so I omitted those, and I mixed the chopped nuts with the topping instead of mixing them with the cake batter... Other than that, I didn't make any changes. The cake rose a LOT during baking...it turned out very light and fluffy. My husband, who normally eats like a bird, ate 2 pieces. I'll definitely be making more of this! ~K
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2001
My Family loved this cake including four small children
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is an excellent coffee cake! I used Splenda brown sugar for the topping and it turned out very well. The longer this cake sits the better it gets... by the 3rd day it was still moist and tasted better then the first day. I'm now baking these in 6" bundt pans. Once the topping gets solid I put them on plates and freeze them, then vacuum seal them and will be giving them out for Christmas gifts. My next batch I might hold off on the topping and do that once I take them out to thaw closer to Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I have been making this coffee cake for probably 30 years and still love it. Because it's so sweet I use just powdered sugar mixed with milk for the glaze. It gives it a great appearance without adding a whole lot more fat/sugar and still allows the topping to remain crispy. Our favorite variations include 3 cups of cut up apples along with the nuts and raisins or a large can of cut up peaches and the nuts. I also use a little more cinnamon - 2 t. For best flavor it is best to make the coffee cake a day ahead. The flavor becomes more intense as the days pass. The secret to success with the Herman starter is to keep it at room temperature and to avoid using metal spoons or bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janisko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This coffee cake was good but I have made better ones without Herman starter. I did make a few changes. I ran out of sugar so I only used a 1/4 cup of sugar in the cake mix and I am glad I did because it had just the right amount of sweetness. I also cut the glaze in half and only used it on half of the cake. My husband like the sweet glazed half, I liked the unglazed half because the crumb topping stayed crispy and it was sweet enough without the glaze. If i make this again i will add instant vanilla pudding to the cake mix to get a moister cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States