Herman Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
I love using my Herman starter for this bread. Smc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
I don't know if there was something that was forgotten or what. But unless you add sugar to the yeast it will not activate. And unless you add more flour than the directions call for you will have a puddle of dough. I fould this complicated and leaving out quite a few steps :(. Would Not recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I already had a sourdough starter and I saw this recipe for white bread. I followed it with the exception of adding 3 tbs. sugar to it. I then worked only 1/2 of the remaining flour in and then used the other half to kneed the bread with. It all worked in eventually. (all three cups)I then let it raise and then punched it down and divided it into two loaves and let it raise overnight. They were light and fluffy. It is delisheous toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
If you want Sourdough bread that is flat as a pancake and dense as a rock then this is the recipe for you. This recipe did not rise at all. The dough maintained the same shape as size for 2 hours before I gave up and reshaped it for baking. Waited another 2 hours with the dough in a slightly warmer place and it still did not rise. My yeast was good, just bought the day before from the store and performed as expected when mixed with the water and a pinch of sugar at the start of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
this was my first try at anything w/sourdough. i was very pleased
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryson City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I really liked this bread, the texture is very nice. But the recipe is missing flour. I ended up adding about 1 1/2 cups more. The instructions should say 'keep adding 1/2 cup of flour until it is ready...' It is also a bit on the salty side. The bread by itself is good, but putting any butter or salty spread on it was too much. Next time I am adding 2 tsp. salt, not a tbsp. I made this in my breadmaker and it came out just fine. Just pour the liquid ingredients in first, then the flour and the dry ones. I processed it in the 'sweet dough' cycle, but the regular white cycle probably would have worked as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I've made this bread several times now. It has a slightly sweet flavor to it. It's great toasted for breakfast. My husband and I can't get enough of it! Delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RSloan
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I tried another Herman recipe before I tried this one and was totally disappointed - this one made the perfect loaf of bread - light with a thin crisp crust. Since I like my sourdough a little sweet I added about ¾ c. sugar and, like other reviewers, had to add about 1 additional cup of flour. I plan to pass this recipe out when I give away my starter! (This is also perfect for French toast!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I wanted to add that many of these reviews are a function of two things: the condition and hydration of Herman. In order for your bread to rise, Herman must also rise. Bubbles alone don't rise bread. You need Herman to foam to at least 1/3 it's size; although most websites say it should double to make good bread. How do you get it to increase, feed Herman and use or dump some and do it again for several days. Each time, Herman will improve. As for hydration, the thinner your Herman the more flour you'll need when you bake. In general, most recipes assume a "pancake batter" consistency. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smithcrk
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I love this bread, but love it even more as dinner rolls. Just divide dough in half then half again then thirds. Recipe makes 12 large rolls. I also cut down the salt to 1 tsp. It is also a good dough for cinnamon rolls. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smithcrk

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States