Herman Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by C.Eaddy
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
So easy & dough turned out beautiful! Had to keep adding flour while kneading to get correct texture. I rolled the dough into 16 balls & patted down a little. Next time I'll probably make a dozen larger size. Turns out between a biscuit & roll. Delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Excellent --but was worried-no picture and a # of tales of woe. Herman is a sweet sourdough starter and these tasted sweet like they contained honey. I have learned to avoid the slow to rise problems by making the dough the night before--punching it down in the morning--making the dough balls [12] and letting them rise-- baking them at noon. Unlike french begets which can collapse with to much rise time Herman recipes respond well to this approach. Will include a photo next time these were devoured to quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cz375hh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This made a lovely soft, light and fluffy dough. Really east to work and handle, I think I could user it in lots of diferent ways, I used Fliimsy's idea for cinnamon rolls this time. There was a little bit of a bitter taste from the baking soda (so not 5*) so I'm going to reduce the amount next time and hope I will still get good results. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I changed the instructions some. Used half whole wheat flour & half all purpose flour. I increased the oven temp to 400 degrees dropped the amount of time for baking. And skipped letting it rise. They turned out pretty good. I also tried letting them rise for an hour and baking at the higher temp. They turned out a little lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Oni

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wynantskill, New York, USA
Living In: Highland Springs, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
My biscuits turned out blah. I used a sourdough starter I already had ready instead of the Herman starter which may have been the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
These didn't turn out well for me at all. They were flat...and very sweet. I was hoping for more of a sourdough biscuit. I had added garlic salt and shredded cheddar cheese and you couldn't even taste it...they were still very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayC
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
these did not turn out well for me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
My family loved this. They smelled great while they were cooking. The texture is a little cakey. I had to add around 1/2 cup more flour to get the right consistency but the flavor is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
very good flavor and texture. I have done several Herman recipes from this site and this is my favorite. I used a 1/4 cup of wheat flour and added a few tablespoons of ground flax and a2 tsp less of oil. they were great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
great recipe... and so easy! I line the baking sheet with parchment paper 1st and don't even have to wash the sheet... I do find that if you are rolling them out, you need to add about 1/4 - 1/3 cup more flour... I've never tried these with whole wheat flour, but I think I will next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flaky homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States