Herbs de Provence Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Nice way to add your own touch to Chicken Provencal. Let your guests see the magical jar of spices, but don't tell them what's in it. Clarifying note: The recipe calls for "bay powder". This is powdered bay leaves, NOT "Old Bay" seasoning powder. Buy bay powder at your supermarket. It is impossible to powder bay leaves with your mortar and pestle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Spelvin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
i'm not exactly sure what this is supposed to taste like and/or add to recipes.. but i used this in Chef John's Grilled Lemon Yogurt Chicken on this site minus the lavender.. and it was very tasty.. i agree with other reviewers that this smelled awesome.. so ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Smells amazing! Can't wait to put it on EVERYTHING! I don't have a spice grinder so I used my good ole mortar and pestle, and I ground up my savory as well since it was pretty big pieces of leaves. I also had no bay powder, so I ground up a whole leaf (easier said than done but smelled yummy!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I was in a jam, thought I had HDP on hand that my neighbor brought me back from France, but alas I couldn't find it! I had everything on hand but the savory and my dish was excellent. I will however add it later and I'll bet it will be even tastier. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I cut the recipe to 1/4 and used every ingredient as called for (even the lavender!). Very nice blend of spices! I will use this rather than try to buy some! Thank you so much, Mariposa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
What a good guide for a dummy like me! Worked perfectly with Don's Savoury Saute potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Perfect! I will use this again. I don't have lavender and I don't think I missed it. I used this for another A/R recipe http://allrecipes.com/recipe/chicken-con-vino-e-aglio-with-wine-and-garlic/detail.aspx. thx Mariposa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Very nice blend. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Thanks! It was a great addition to my 40 clove chicken. Smells incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Wonderful Herbs de Provence seasoning recipe. It is so good when combined with beef bouillon, basil, garlic and ginger on a steak!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

All about Italian Herbs

See how to make your own blend of Italian herbs.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States