Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This was awesome! I did make a few quick changes. I didn't have the herbes-de-provence spice packet so I just used what I had on hand. Also used the crockpot instead of oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I made this and it came out delicious! I wanted a recipe with herbes de provence but didn't realize until i was about to make it that it called for a proprietary spice packet. I used the herb mix that I already had, but I added more salt and pepper to it, since the McCormick version has salt in it. Also, I think the lavender scent and flavor can be way too overpowering, depending on the spice mix. I did 50% herbes de provence, and 50% italian seasoning (upon my research, they had very similar herbs minus the lavender). During the last few minutes of cooking, i broiled it to brown the top of the chicken. This came out perfectly!! Everyone loved it. Super easy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Yummmm! This smells incredible while cooking, and the outcome is foolproof. I did broil it for a minute or two at the end to get a nice brown color on the chicken. A perfect meal to serve to family or friends, and the seasoning packet makes it easy on you--PLUS since you cook it on a foil lined pan, clean up is easy. 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I've made this twice now and I realized why it's so appealing to me. It reminds me of something my Mom would have made for our family when I was younger. It's a rustic, old school, comforting meal. A wholesome, wonderful family dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Tried this tonight on a whim because it is the featured recipe. Wow it is good!!! I added minced garlic, diced sweet onions and celery along with the other veggies, followed all the other directions exactly. It turned out incredible. I definitely recommend this recipe! I had to go to two different stores to find the seasoning mix though. So don't give up trying to find it, it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle McCormick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This was quite good! I liked the white wine with the herbs but I didn't use the McCormick pack, I just used my Herbs de Provence spice. Also did just chicken breasts, not with bone in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerInTheKitchen

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Pretty good and very, very simple to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I made this recipe this past Thursday. My personal tweak was to replace wine w/chicken broth, add 1 tbsp minced garlic, and a large sweet onion. My husband loved it so much he wants it put in the rotation! I brought leftovers to work for lunch the next day. My co-workers went wild for the smell, and all wanted the recipe! SOOO good!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Just because I what my family would like I added 4 crushed cloves of garlic and one onion sliced up to this dish. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I couldn't find the actual Herbes de provence package in the store so I ended up buying a bottle instead. I ended up modifying the recipe a bit: I diced half a red onion and pressed 4 garlic cloves and mixed it in with the potatoes, carrots and chicken along with some sea salt and black pepper. The dish turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States