Herbed Sweet 'n' Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This was SO good, my family LOVED it. I made only slight modifications. I didn't have enough honey, so I used 2Tbs, and substituted Pineapple juice for the rest. I also left out the cyenne pepper because it would make it too spicy. The only thing I recommend is to marinade for a few hours, maybe even over night, to soften all the herbs. I also added chunks of pineapple, which gave it a nice added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
My husband loved this! I dipped the chicken in flour and browned them before putting them in the oven, which I think added to the appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Quick and delicious! Reduced the oil to 1 tablespoon and replaced the other 5 with pineapple juice. Thanks to other reviewers' recommendations, I added pineapple pieces (wonderful addition!) and marinated the breasts for about 5 hours. Because I had so little oil in the marinade I was extra careful not to overcook the chicken and basted often. Rave reviews from family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
this was fantastic! not really what I would call sweet and sour, more like sweet and spicy but it was sooo yummy. I cut the cayenne in half and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
i followed the recipe but i did change a few things.. first i cooked it on the stove in a large skillet.. second i thought that the sauce was too thin for my taste so i added some cornstarch a bit at a time until it got to the consistency that i liked.. but other then that i thought it was a wonderful tasting recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
I was doubtful when I say the mixture of oil, honey etc seperating into different layers before I put it on the chicken. However the flavour softened upon cooking and was delicious. I hope my friends don't expect everything I cook to be as good. I added some fried onions and garlic and peppers for a finishing touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
Really good. Used 4 T rice vinegar instead of distilled. I cut each breast into 4 strips and marinated 30 min, then sprinkled with sesame seeds before baking. Garnished with chopped green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I made this in the Crockpot ! Yummy! Used balsamic vinagar not white...chopped up some onion, bell pepper and mushroom halves & then added a can of chicken broth...put it in the crockpot on high for 4 hours. Served it over cooked rice & I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I found the sauce to be rather bland, so aside from putting some curry in the rice after it cooked and topping it with sesame seeds and sliced almonds I added the following [to taste]: Rice Wine Vinegar instead of white, plus a little extra. Extra cayenne pepper Extra Honey Granulated Sugar Hot sauce Sesame Seed Oil Extra soy sauce Hoisin Garlic & Onion Powder Ground ginger Ketchup I would also suggest covering the chicken for the first about half of the cooking time so it doesn't become dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Kingsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
A Nice sauce, I turned mine into more of a mrainade by adding a little wine and some lemon. Great taste and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Herbed Chicken Nuggets

See how to make tender baked chicken nuggets with an herb breading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States