Herbed Sweet 'n' Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I made this in the Crockpot ! Yummy! Used balsamic vinagar not white...chopped up some onion, bell pepper and mushroom halves & then added a can of chicken broth...put it in the crockpot on high for 4 hours. Served it over cooked rice & I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
A very good recipe with some changes. LET THE CHICKEN MARINATE! Be sure to reserve some sauce for basting, but if you let the chicken marinate (all day), this has excellent flavor and comes out tender! I also used chili powder because I didn't have cayenne at hand. I cut the amount in half because we don't like spicy food. Also good with "taters" instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Quick and delicious! Reduced the oil to 1 tablespoon and replaced the other 5 with pineapple juice. Thanks to other reviewers' recommendations, I added pineapple pieces (wonderful addition!) and marinated the breasts for about 5 hours. Because I had so little oil in the marinade I was extra careful not to overcook the chicken and basted often. Rave reviews from family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Fiance said that this recipe was definitely a keeper! I followed the recipe exactly EXCEPT I didn't have any allspice, so I added about 3 cloves of fresh garlic. It was awesome! I also added a little cornstarch to the sauce to thicken it up a little. The heat factor was great for us cuz we like it spicy, but if you're serving to little ones or people who aren't wild about spice, you might want to cut it back or omit it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shiloh, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This recipe was a bit too spicy for me. If I make it again, I will use less cayenne pepper. My first few bites of the chicken were without any extra sauce on it and it tasted a little blah. Then I poured the sauce over my chicken and rice and it was tasty, just a little too hot/spicy for me. My mouth was burning. Next time, I might omit the cayenne pepper and add pineapple and/or garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I loved this recipe - I halved it and made it for only 2 chicken breasts...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I am ALWAYS looking for a new way to seve chicken. I marinated the chicken overnight in the mixture. It was flavorful, but very messy upon cooking. I would rather throw this on the grill than cook it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
This recipe was very good! The best thing of all and the biggest shock was that my kids loved it. The only modifications I made were omitting the cayenne pepper and adding fresh pineapple chunks. This is definitely a recipe I will use over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Fast, easy and delicious. Will definitely cook this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reutlingen, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I got a hug from my teenagers on this one!! The only things I changed was, I did not use chayenne pepper at all, (which then made it "sweet n sour" (not "sweet n SPICY" as others have said) and I used Rice A Roni's chicken flavored rice instead of the plain rice. We all loved it and we will be making this again, thank you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liljewel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Herbed Chicken Nuggets

See how to make tender baked chicken nuggets with an herb breading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States