Herbed Sweet 'n' Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
i let this marinate for almost 36 hours. i added some cinnamon in place on the allspice. this dish was really fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artgrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I wasn't impressed with this at all.For the most part there wasn't much sweet or sour taste to this so it would have to be adjusted IF I made this again (which I won't be doing).Secondly the taste of the black pepper was all that I could taste,I'd scale that back to maybe 1/2 Tsp. at the most.With the cayenne pepper in this,there's no need for so much black pepper.You can always tell how well I like a recipe judging by how long it sits in the fridge.I've still got one piece of chicken left and it's been 5 days since I made it so it's not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I made this recipe before and didn't like it. I tried it again and decrease the cayenne pepper to 1/8 tsp. It was good not great. I served it over rice with some of the sauce poured over top. It was so easy that I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This has a really excellent flavor. You can also cook the chicken in the crockpot so it really soaks up the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
My 13 year old daughter, who is far from a chicken fan, had a double portion of this and actually said that she loved it. The only change I made was to mix the ingredients in a saucepan over low heat to allow the honey to mix better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WALLYUM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I marinated the chicken for a few hours before cooking it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
The sauce is very tasty and great over the rice. I used pork instead of chicken and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Simple and very flavorful. My whole family really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLACKVELVETRAV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Very tasty sauce but next time I will use a less cayenne. The cayenne overwhelmed the other flavors. After reading the other reviews, I will definitely use cornstarch to thicken the sauce plus marinate the chicken a couple hours before cooking. Good flavor. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States