Herbed Sweet 'n' Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Good, not great. Sweet n' sour is a bit misleading. I used jasmine rice instead of white rice and basted chicken frequently. Was very easy, I had everything on hand already but not very memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
LOVED the olive oil mixture! It was a huge hit with my boyfriend and I. I think next time I will use it in a stirfry with lots of veggies over white rice instead of baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This was good, not great .. but good. I would just call it herb chicken though, it was not anything like sweet 'n sour. The sauce is thin but dipping breadsticks or rolls in it is yummy. The chicken dries out fast during cooking so it is easy to overcook. I will make it again but it won't be one of our regular dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This was excellent but in no way was it "sweet and sour". I would just call it herbed chicken. I did it on a george foreman grill and everyone loved it. good on the BBQ as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
We enjoyed this recipe. I didn't have any thyme or cayenne pepper on hand, so used chili powder for seasoning. I made the chicken in the crockpot (on high for 4 hours) and then served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Too much pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This was ok, nothing special for us. Wasn't "sweet n sour" in our opinion. Won't be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
My boyfriend and I both enjoyed this recipe very much. The second time i cooked it I switched the olive oil for chicken broth as a review suggested,it was still good but much much more spicy. I also added grilled peppers, onions, and pineapple for garnish and flaver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I would definetly use the sauce as a marinade and a grill baste. However, when baking the chicken, the flavors are lost and seemed dry. I will definetly grill and baste next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Quick and easy recipe. I added a little additional seasoning with seasoning salt and pepper. Left out the cayenne. The key definitely is to baste the chicken as it cooks to really taste the flavor of the sauce. Also substituted brown rice for white since the recipe by itself is pretty healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States