Herbed Sweet 'n' Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I love love this recipe! To get the chicken more flavorful I cut it up in bite size chunks before I put it in the oven. I always double or triple the sauce just because I like it with rice by itself. My whole family love loves this recipe!! We've done it w/o thyme and it tastes just fine. I wouldn't say this is sweet n sour chicken but regardless of the name it's oh so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5 in family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
It was a good recipe. Cook time and ingredient list were right on. Found that the spice heat is more pronounced when baked rather than barbequing (which I did last time). Initially I rated this at 3 stars (BBQ'd) however baking made my step son turn red...very worthy of 4 stars (he loves hot spicy food).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
My husband and I enjoy this recipe so much that I have made it more times than I can remember. The only thing I do differently is use chicken tenders, scored in a smaller baking dish (8x8) so the sauce covers more of the chicken while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Figment78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
to thicken the sauce add some flour to the mixture, it will not make it so runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heyzz1227

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I added less honey and no allspice (I didn't have any allspice). Besides that, I followed the recipe exactly. I found the sauce to be too thin and even though I added less honey than directed, it was too sweet. The sauce was really, really, really thin. Almost like water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This was great. Everyone loved it. Dosn't taste like sweet and sour chicken though. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellie81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Palmyra, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
so easy to make and such a great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
My husband loved this dish! It was simple enough...all the ingredients were on hand. I will make it again. I did use less red pepper than called for, and it was still pretty spicy. But not too much. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
It's definately sweet and spicy. There is no sour to be found. I used my crock pot for this one and added the chicken with the sauce and then put in enough chicken broth to cover the chicken. I moved the sauce to a pot and thickened it after it was done. It turned out great. My husband doesn't like rice, but I think it would work with noodles too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Everybody loved it! I used less pepper than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZREIL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States