Herbed Sweet 'n' Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I've kept this recipe in my recipe box for quite a while. I personally like it better than standard sweet and sour. It has much more flavor, and everyone I've served it too loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This would be really good with pineapple and stir fry veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, New York, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
The sauce was very thin & not sweet and sourish. Needs to be tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Our family has been making this recipe for years and it's one of our absolute favorites! We make it even simpler by mixing the sauce in the baking dish adding the chicken and baking the whole thing for about 25 minutes (until chicken is cooked through) turning chicken several times to keep both sides sauced. Then we cut the chicken up and serve with waterchestnuts, chow mien noodles, broccoli and the sauce all mixed in a bowl. Wonderful for kids and adults, easy to adapt, great reheated, and great food for on the go! HIGHLY RECOMMENED RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. I did do a little tweaking to suit our tastes but it turned out wonderful. I replaced 4 tablespoons of the olive oil with lemon juice, replaced the white vinegar with rice vinegar. I also added about 1/8 tsp ground ginger and a clove of finely chopped garlic. I also only used a few "shakes" of the cayenne instead of 1/2tsp. I think it was spicy with just the shakes and couldn't imagine using all of it. I cooked the chicken in the sauce on the stove then removed the chicken and used cornstarch to slightly thicken the sauce. Then I spooned some over the chicken and rice recipe. My family loved it and are begging me to make it again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Grandpa approved this dish I made for him and he doesn't eat anyone food. and my son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Good flavor, but not enough sauce to go around. I drizzled the rice with teriyaki sauce, but I'll try doubling the sauce recipe next time. Cayenne lends a subtle spiciness, not hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Didnt use allspice. I used only 4 tablespoon oil. Wonderful recipe. Instead of continue to smother it with sauce during baking I just covered half of the baking pan with sauce and put it in 15 minutes longer. Less hassle for me to keep basking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eliang

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
My family LOVES this recipe! I've made a few modifications though: -Use real apple cider vinegar (with the “mother”) instead of white vinegar -Cube the chicken & fried it a small amount of olive oil first (or cube chicken & cook in sauce in the oven) -Put the chicken cubes in a baking dish & pour all sauce mixture over it to cook (rather than basting) -Use brown jasmine rice instead of white rice -Sometimes I use 3 tbsp of honey instead of 6, too I usually stir-fry a variety of vegetables (peppers, onion, broccoli, celery, carrots, asparagus...whatever I have in the house) to serve with it. A relatively quick, easy, & delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I actually thought this was pretty good . My husband did thought it was okay but needed something else added to it. I read the other reviews and made some modifications to it based on those and I think it would actually be better how it was written. I think next time I will poke some holes in the chicken for the sauce to go into or marinade it for several hours before baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States