Herbed Sweet 'n' Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Family favorite! i cut the oil down to only one tbsp add a tsp of sesame oil for added flavor and a 3 or 4 tablespoons of water to make up for the missing oil. i only use the paprika pepper & cayanne for spices because i dont want to over power the flavors. after its done baking i transfer the juice the chiken cooked in into a sauce pan mix a tbsp water with a tbsp corn startch and boil untill thickened. cut chicken into bite size pieces pour over chicken add pineapple chunks & serve over warm rice. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I've kept this recipe in my recipe box for quite a while. I personally like it better than standard sweet and sour. It has much more flavor, and everyone I've served it too loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This would be really good with pineapple and stir fry veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, New York, USA
Living In: North Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
The sauce was very thin & not sweet and sourish. Needs to be tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Our family has been making this recipe for years and it's one of our absolute favorites! We make it even simpler by mixing the sauce in the baking dish adding the chicken and baking the whole thing for about 25 minutes (until chicken is cooked through) turning chicken several times to keep both sides sauced. Then we cut the chicken up and serve with waterchestnuts, chow mien noodles, broccoli and the sauce all mixed in a bowl. Wonderful for kids and adults, easy to adapt, great reheated, and great food for on the go! HIGHLY RECOMMENED RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. I did do a little tweaking to suit our tastes but it turned out wonderful. I replaced 4 tablespoons of the olive oil with lemon juice, replaced the white vinegar with rice vinegar. I also added about 1/8 tsp ground ginger and a clove of finely chopped garlic. I also only used a few "shakes" of the cayenne instead of 1/2tsp. I think it was spicy with just the shakes and couldn't imagine using all of it. I cooked the chicken in the sauce on the stove then removed the chicken and used cornstarch to slightly thicken the sauce. Then I spooned some over the chicken and rice recipe. My family loved it and are begging me to make it again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Grandpa approved this dish I made for him and he doesn't eat anyone food. and my son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Good flavor, but not enough sauce to go around. I drizzled the rice with teriyaki sauce, but I'll try doubling the sauce recipe next time. Cayenne lends a subtle spiciness, not hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Didnt use allspice. I used only 4 tablespoon oil. Wonderful recipe. Instead of continue to smother it with sauce during baking I just covered half of the baking pan with sauce and put it in 15 minutes longer. Less hassle for me to keep basking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eliang

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
My family LOVES this recipe! I've made a few modifications though: -Use real apple cider vinegar (with the “mother”) instead of white vinegar -Cube the chicken & fried it a small amount of olive oil first (or cube chicken & cook in sauce in the oven) -Put the chicken cubes in a baking dish & pour all sauce mixture over it to cook (rather than basting) -Use brown jasmine rice instead of white rice -Sometimes I use 3 tbsp of honey instead of 6, too I usually stir-fry a variety of vegetables (peppers, onion, broccoli, celery, carrots, asparagus...whatever I have in the house) to serve with it. A relatively quick, easy, & delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States