Herbed Sweet 'n' Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I got a hug from my teenagers on this one!! The only things I changed was, I did not use chayenne pepper at all, (which then made it "sweet n sour" (not "sweet n SPICY" as others have said) and I used Rice A Roni's chicken flavored rice instead of the plain rice. We all loved it and we will be making this again, thank you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liljewel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
This dish was okay. My husband enjoyed it more than I did but he likes things to be more seasoned than I do. I would have preferred it more sweet than spicy. Might make again with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
5 stars because hubby doesn't like sweet and sour together in recipes ie pineapple, apricots etc in savoury recipes - thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Living In: Murray Bridge, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I found the sauce to be rather bland, so aside from putting some curry in the rice after it cooked and topping it with sesame seeds and sliced almonds I added the following [to taste]: Rice Wine Vinegar instead of white, plus a little extra. Extra cayenne pepper Extra Honey Granulated Sugar Hot sauce Sesame Seed Oil Extra soy sauce Hoisin Garlic & Onion Powder Ground ginger Ketchup I would also suggest covering the chicken for the first about half of the cooking time so it doesn't become dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Kingsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This was very tasty! Instead of putting it over plain rice, I put it over rice pilaf...it was fantastic! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I liked this recipe but I don't think it qualifies as sweet and sour... As someone has already suggested, sweet and spicy is probably more accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
My husband loved this! I dipped the chicken in flour and browned them before putting them in the oven, which I think added to the appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
this dish was ok, and I would do it again in a pinch, but it wasn't what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
this was fantastic! not really what I would call sweet and sour, more like sweet and spicy but it was sooo yummy. I cut the cayenne in half and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Just tried this recipe for the first time. Quite a nice flavour, very easy to make. I like it spicey, so I went a little heavier on the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States