Herbed Sweet 'n' Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I got a hug from my teenagers on this one!! The only things I changed was, I did not use chayenne pepper at all, (which then made it "sweet n sour" (not "sweet n SPICY" as others have said) and I used Rice A Roni's chicken flavored rice instead of the plain rice. We all loved it and we will be making this again, thank you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liljewel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
This dish was okay. My husband enjoyed it more than I did but he likes things to be more seasoned than I do. I would have preferred it more sweet than spicy. Might make again with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
5 stars because hubby doesn't like sweet and sour together in recipes ie pineapple, apricots etc in savoury recipes - thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Living In: Murray Bridge, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I found the sauce to be rather bland, so aside from putting some curry in the rice after it cooked and topping it with sesame seeds and sliced almonds I added the following [to taste]: Rice Wine Vinegar instead of white, plus a little extra. Extra cayenne pepper Extra Honey Granulated Sugar Hot sauce Sesame Seed Oil Extra soy sauce Hoisin Garlic & Onion Powder Ground ginger Ketchup I would also suggest covering the chicken for the first about half of the cooking time so it doesn't become dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Hitzel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Kingsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This was very tasty! Instead of putting it over plain rice, I put it over rice pilaf...it was fantastic! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I liked this recipe but I don't think it qualifies as sweet and sour... As someone has already suggested, sweet and spicy is probably more accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
My husband loved this! I dipped the chicken in flour and browned them before putting them in the oven, which I think added to the appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
this dish was ok, and I would do it again in a pinch, but it wasn't what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
this was fantastic! not really what I would call sweet and sour, more like sweet and spicy but it was sooo yummy. I cut the cayenne in half and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Just tried this recipe for the first time. Quite a nice flavour, very easy to make. I like it spicey, so I went a little heavier on the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States