Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
recipe was great. i made one slight change in it, istead of the heat from the cayenne, i made a fresh tomatillo and jalapeno salso to go along with it. recipe still is fantastic without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Used the recipe as written and it was wonderful. Very fresh tasting. I think using the fresh herbs as opposed to dried makes all the difference. We absolutely love this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This was a great recipe! Our whole family loved it and we will definitely make it again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I made this with brown rice instead and added in som steamed broccoli..My Husband and I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I made this with some leftover jasmine rice. This is very tasty and different. I am going to use it in some wraps also. I did not have fresh spices only on the cilantro. I will make with all fresh next time just to see if there is a difference. But I love the taste, thanks for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I made this about 10 years ago and lost the recipe. Thank you so much for sharing it! I love this salad!! It does need to set and cool in order for all of the spices to combine perfectly. I used dried spices except for the cilantro and it came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This salad was just OK. A nice change from your typical macaroni or potato salad that uses mayo as a base. I changed the recipe slightly, substituting chopped green peppers for the celery and I added 3 T. of diced pimentos- - the salad needed a little more color. I took this to a picnic at the beach, it held up well. Wasn't all that impressive, I probably won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This is a very tasty and unique salad, and has a nice color with the white rice, black beans and the different colors of green with the celery and herbs. As another reviewer suggested, it does need to sit a few hours to allow the flavors to meld. I used the recipe as written other than subbing Chipotle chile pepper for the Cayenne, and reducing the black pepper to 1/4 tsp. I also used Basmati white rice. Five stars and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This was pretty good and my family liked it a lot. I thought I was a bit dry but I'll definitely am making it again. I did the recipe almogrist exactly as written except I used dried thyme instead of fresh because the store didn't have any. It went really great with the Grilled Talapia with Mango Salsa from this site. A bit of steamed broccoli finished the meal. Great for a summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I took the lazy way out and used dried herbs (except for cilantro). Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States