Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
A delicious snack I kept in the fridge a few days that saved me from grabbing cookies or chips when I got the munchies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I took a 1/2 day off of work and made this and the Tilapia with Mango Salsa. It is absolutely delcious upon first tasting it. I did not alter the recipe and think the fresh herbs make this recipe. I can't wait to see what hubby thinks about it at dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Did not have fresh thyme or cilantro, so used dried (1 tsp ea). mixed the dressing, waited 10 minutes, then mixed it with the beans, celery and onions. The rice was not cool yet, and I had to take my son to choir, so it sat for 1 1/2 hrs before adding the rice and then serving. I did not like it that night. It was too oily and the red wine vinegar was too strong. I couldn't taste the black beans at all, which I love. I put the remains in the fridge and had some for lunch the next day. It was sooo much better the next day. The oily taste was gone, the vinegar and thyme had time to mellow. The fresh basil and parsley looked a little sad, so I'll probably either put the fresh herbs in just before serving or use dried. And I would definitely add more beans (love black beans). Overall, it was good and so simple (love the idea of a recipe that uses left over rice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Okay, this was excellent. Followed the recipe as written except to omit olives (a few in our group don't care for them)and cut back a bit on the cayenne; everyone loved this salad. And, it's really good the next day, too - - - just put it in the microwave for about 20 or 30 seconds to warm slightly and take the chill off. I ate for breakfast as I couldn't wait for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
My husband loved this salad. It definitely has a kick to it! I didn't love this at first, but after a few bites it grew on me and I ended up really enjoying it! It's something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Only make as much as is needed because as leftovers it's not nearly as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
this is excellent as is - perfect side dish for a bbq....such as the grilled tilapia with mango salsa. Cool and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I took the lazy way out and used dried herbs (except for cilantro). Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This was pretty good and my family liked it a lot. I thought I was a bit dry but I'll definitely am making it again. I did the recipe almogrist exactly as written except I used dried thyme instead of fresh because the store didn't have any. It went really great with the Grilled Talapia with Mango Salsa from this site. A bit of steamed broccoli finished the meal. Great for a summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This is a very tasty and unique salad, and has a nice color with the white rice, black beans and the different colors of green with the celery and herbs. As another reviewer suggested, it does need to sit a few hours to allow the flavors to meld. I used the recipe as written other than subbing Chipotle chile pepper for the Cayenne, and reducing the black pepper to 1/4 tsp. I also used Basmati white rice. Five stars and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States