Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
really good but doesnt make a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Wonderful. But agree with other reviewers, fresh herbs are a must. I don't like red wine vinegar so I used 1/2c of Annie's red wine vinegar & olive oil dressing instead of the vinegar and olive oil. It's a great brown bag lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Starting with leftover brown rice and omitting the cilantro (don't like) as well as the black olives (didn't have), I found this far from bland. In fact, this was quite herbaceous with just the right amount of crunch and warming heat. If there is any flaw, it would have to be the acidity -- next time I will lessen the vinegar by a tablespoon or two. This will be fantastic in the warmer months with garden fresh tomatoes ~ thanks Kelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
What a great, light alternative to a Mexican "heavy" side! Cool and refreshing - lots of herbs and just the right amount of oil and vinegar. Definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCabes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Surprisingly spicy and full of flavor. Good to make the day before. Great alternative to potato salad at picnics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Really liked this recipe!! I used a pouch of ready made brown rice and zapped it in the microwave for about a minute to warm it up and take the dressing a bit better. Omitted the cilantro only because I didn't have any and celery because I'm not a big fan. Cut back the cayenne to 1/4 teaspoon. Added calamata olives instead of canned black olives and then added about a half a cup of halved cherry tomatoes. Wonderfull!! Perfect lunch salad!! Next time I'm going to reduce the olive oil to 2 tablespoons to reduce the fat conent a bit and add a minced jalepeno for a bit more heat but trust me, a pretty good recipe as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is EXACTLY what I was looking for. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out EXCELLENT! Next time I may make a little more of the seasoning to throw in as I like my food VERY flavorful but everyone else thought I shouldn't change one thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was very tasty. We felt like it was missing something though. Next time I plan to add some grilled chicken breasts and bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I had high hopes, but this was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Very nice side dish for a hot day and a great alternative to the same old pasta salad I had been making previously. I made pretty much exactly as described but just a splash of balsamic vinegar and about 2 1/2 to 3 cups of rice. Everyone seemed to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States