Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
This gets a five because my husband immediately asked me to make it again ... the next day. I've made it with both a brown rice blend and white rice - both are wonderful. I did use dried herbs as I have recently been away and the friend who was supposed to water my herbs killed them all. I reconstituted them with a little oil and water (1/2 tblsp. of each that is supposed to be 1 tblsp.) and went from there. Almost the whole household dislikes celery (except me!) so I used multi colored sweet peppers (the bagged little ones) instead and they made it colorful and were wonderful in it. The rice/bean/dressing mix is a great starter for an immense number of combinations of veggies, depending upon what is available at the farmers markets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
My family loved this. I love that had all those fresh herbs in the house and have been trying a number of different recipes with those. I changed two things. 1. I used kidney beans instead of black beans. We just do not care for black beans. 2. I only used 1/8 cup of oil. Oil isn't my favorite, so I cut that down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Very good and using fresh herbs makes the flavor kick. I did use China Girl brown rice and it was just fine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I fixed this exactly as stated, except had to use dried thyme -- and it was fantastic! It was easy, quick, and the result was spicy but just like we like it. I did use a good olive oil that we hadn't yet opened, and I always think that makes a positive difference. Also used a good red wine vinegar. But neither the olive oil or the vinegar was especially rare or expensive. Very flavorful right off the bat -- didn't have to wait a day for the flavors to fully blend -- even fifteen minutes after fixing it was tangy, tasty, and filling. This will become a standby for my wife and me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This recipe disappointed me in a way. I made it because I love absolutely every ingredient, but somehow all together they weren't too spectacular. Oh it's edible and I plan to consume every morsel, but I won't be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
A nice change from our usual Mexican black bean recipes. I cut the oil in half and substituted chopped tomato for the black olives. I also omitted the cilantro. I didn't have celery, it wasn't missed, but will try it next time. I also made this with dried herbs and let them sit in the oil for an hour prior to blending in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Kay
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I really liked this recipe, except for the olive oil. I'll see what it's like tomorrow, as one reviewer noted. I used basmati rice, minced garlic (didn't have the powder), white wine vinegar (didn't have red) and omitted the olives (because I don't like them). Didn't have fresh thyme, so used ground. Also added orange peppers for some colour contrast and a hit of sweetness. This recipe seems like it could adapt well to variations -- thinking about diced tomatoes and jalapeños. A nice lunch option! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Reminded me of an old Hopping John salad I used to make in the 70s, with black-eyed peas. And who in the world would think of substituting dried cilantro for fresh? Do they even sell dried cilantro?? Cilantro is one of my favorite herbs because of its distinctive flavor. It makes this recipe. If you don't have fresh cilantro on hand, then don't make this; make something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I made this as-written for a side dish, and tried it again for lunch the following day. The dressing was tasty and we enjoyed the crunch from the celery, but it was heavier than anticipated and didn't translate as "refreshing" to us. I would try this again with a brown rice and maybe some halved grape tomatoes or a can of drained fire roasted tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Was delicious! I made it for my non-vegetarian bf and he loved it! To make it personal I might add an extra celery stalk and green onion next time just to add extra flavor! Kudos to whom shared this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States