Herbed Pork and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
I had a bit of a challenge with this recipe. I was only serving three so my roast was just about a lb. and a 14. I played heck with the cooking time. My apples were overdone because I guessed wrong. My apples must have been done in about a 12 hour (but I didn't know that!). If you make this recipe smaller than what the recipe calls for remember that. A fine recipe though. Different and pleasant. Any trouble I had with this recipe was purely my own which is why I still gave it five stars. My husband and five year old son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
I used a pork loin and cut off most of the fat. I rubbed one teaspoon of olive oil and the spices into the roast. I baked it for 30 minutes then added the apples with apple cider and baked it for 50 more minutes. I scooped out the apples and roast onto a plate and poured the fat-free liquid into the maple syrup and cooked it down to half. I would definately make this again. The favour was amazing. Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
I made this for some friends for dinner and the only thing I changed was, I used 4 teaspoons Herbs de Provence in place of the dried herbs listed. I also would have done more apples because there didn't seem to be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
I started making this while living in Germany when I got 10 kilos of apples and needed apple recipes. I like using the leftovers to make Pork Fried Rice using the sweet "gravy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
Excellent dish! I brought it to the family Christmas dinner last year just to have something different from the usual fare. It was a hit! Will make it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
This was good,but not a big hit with my kids so it's something I won't make too much again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estherville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
I made this for my family with a 4lb pork loin. I just changed the time it was cooked to around 1.5hrs. The pork turned out nice and juicy, and the apples and onions were delicious. I added a little extra brown sugar to the apples, and the taste reminded me a bit of cranberry sauce. They gave a nice tartness to the the sweetness of the yummy gravy and the meat. I will definately make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
good, but not great, a little dry. I might've overcooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I've made this twice now (once with pork loin, once withpork tenderloin) and it's been great both times. I can say I really care for the apples/onions part of the dish, but they add good flavor to the roast (I think I'd like them more if I added some brown sugar and cinnamon to them after cooking). I use italian seasoning in place of the sage, and I use low-carb syrup instead of real maple syrup - the gravy is thin, but raelly compliments the pork well. Excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
So fantastic I don't know what to say. I made this for a friend of mine and her husband who make gourmet food all the time. I was nervous, but I'll tell you what: They cleaned their plates and asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States