Herbed Pork and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I love love love love love this recipe. It is AMAZING. It is GREAT reheated (as long as you pour some of the gravy over). I improvised and put all the liquids in with the loin while it was cooking. I drizzled all the maple syrup and juice over the pork, stuck the onions and apples in with it as well and cooked it. The pork came out EXTREMELY tender, it was a HIT. I can't rave about this recipe enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walsall, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
EXCELLENT RECIPE!!!! EXQUISITE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This was very good. I made this and then the next day made sandwiches with the leftover pork, and topped them with the apples and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylett, Virginia, USA
Living In: King William, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
This recipe is a keeper! What a wonderful Autumn Treat! The rub is delicious, and I used it about 30 minutes before baking the roast. Yum! I didn't use the maple syrup, but the sauce was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I've already made this on several occasions. The dry rub of thyme, sage, rosemary and marjoram is wonderful. Unfortunately, the kids did not care much for the apples and onions . . . a bit too sweet. Like a few other reviewers, I ended up putting together a gravy of my own. I made a roux using the drippings from the roast, canned chicken broth, a little heavy cream, and some canned mushrooms. The dry rub is definitely a keeper. A must try for all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I could have done without the maple syrup. I will make this again because it was flavorful and smelled good while it was cooking. I let the tenderloin marinate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This was yummy. I only had some boneless porkchops though and tried it with them. I cubed the apples and hid them in a pile under the pork while it baked, it made the pork very juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
I've made this one over and over again.... everyone loves it!! and also wants this recipe. Takes some time to prepare, but if prep done early this is an easy recipe to make and not much to do after putting it in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
My family loved this! I did have to change it a little. I didn't want to cook it in the oven I wanted to do it in a slow cooker so I got out the frozen roast ( I used a Boston Pork Roast) and rubbed the seasonings all over it then put it in the slow cooker. Then let it cook for about 5 hours on low. Then added the apples, onion and sugar and cooked 1 more hour. I made the gravy as directed. My family absolutly LOVED it! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Excellent fall time meal. I made it in the spring, but still enjoyed it. It does remind me of the fall. Delicious rub and excellent and different gravy. I sued a 4 lb. roast for three people and it was nearly gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANDJ0213

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richton Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States