Herbed Pork and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Every bite was very good except where the garlic was. The garlic was sooo strong, it was nasty. Overall this is a very good recipe, but I will definitely just add a tsp or so of MINCED garlic to the rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Absolutely delicious. This is worthy of a christmas dinner presentation. The flavors of the onions, apples, and herb/spices came together better than I could have imagined. I used apple cider from the local orchard and make a pork gravy with the drippings and extra cider juice to pour over the top. This was the best pork loin I have ever made. Yum. Yum. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
thanks! a very good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mftrejobermejo

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I have made this recipe many times (for New Year's dinner, for family gatherings, for church dinner group,etc.). Every time, it turns out wonderful. I does not need modifications! The only thing I did different at all is add 2 more apples, because otherwise my guests fight over who gets the last of them! :) This recipe is great. I highly recommend it. It is beautiful when presented and just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I used Pork tenderloin -I sprinkled the brown sugar, apple juice and maple syrup over it when I added the apples and onion. It is more of a Juice/sauce then gravy but Ohhh sooo GOOD !!! Do Not change a thing - This recipe is Very YUMMY. DELISH !!!!!!!!! Thank you for the recipe PMCHAPMAN :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
What a delicious roast! The herb mix is just perfect. I had a 6 lb boneless pork loin. I rubbed it down with the herbs the night before and kept wrapped in fridge til the next afternoon. I set the roast on the counter for about 30 mins before cooking to knock a bit of the chill off. Cooked for one hour, then added the apple/onion/brown sugar mixture around the roast. We like apples a lot, so I used a 3 lb bag of Granny Smiths (10 smallish apples) and increased the brown sugar to 2/3 cup (used one large white onion). I used a leave-in thermometer and once it hit 150 degrees, I removed the roast and wrapped it in foil to rest for 20 mins (brings it up to a final temp of 160) before slicing. My roast must've been very lean...I had no fat to skim either after the first hour or after all was done. After removing the apples with a slotted spoon, I just poured all the liquid from the pan into a pot with the apple juice and syrup and boiled til it thickened a bit. Keep an eye on your roast as mine didn't take as long to cook as I thought it would. Big 6 lb boneless roast took a total of 1 hr and 45 mins, adding the apples after the first hour (a bone-in roast will cook even faster). To ensure the roast isn't overcooked, remove when it hits 150, rest 15-20 mins, then slice nice and thin on the diagonal. Tender, juicy, flavorful -- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DISCOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
easy to follow directions the longer it stands with rub in the refridgerator the more flavor i added some corn starch to thicken the gravy and it was tremendous this is a must keep and will serve when friends come over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Very flavorful. I used applesauce oinstead of apple slices and poured over the pork loin. It was tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this for Christmas dinner. It was a hit! Everyone loved it and it made delicious leftovers, too. We just reheated and also cut it up in a pan with a little water and BBQ sauce for a very tender, tasty pulled pork type sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KariSwaim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I cooked this recipe for my parents and fiancé and they all loved it. I used fresh rosemary and marjoram instead of dried. I wrapped the loin roast in saran wrap overnight. The combination of apples and red onions was surprisingly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanouk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States