Herbed Pork and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I liked it, but my husband thought it was s0-so. He thought it was a little too bland for him. Because of that, will probably not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Michelle, this recipe is FABULOUS!! I cooked it today for 8 guests and they were so impressed!! The flavors were wonderful, I did marinate it overnight and the only change I made was to the gravy...I too added a pork based gravy mix to the drippings, Juice and syrup, this thickened and extended it. I also doubled the gravy portion knowing that my guest were big on gravy...so glad I did, they loved it!!! Contrary to what some people said, no one thought the gravy was too sweet, might have something to do with the brand of juice and syrup one uses. Anyway, I could go on, but just wanted to thank you for helping me out with a very successful dinner party. Jan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I made this recently and, like most everyone else says, we found it exceptional. I didn't have the time (or patience) to marinate it overnight, so just had the herbs on for a few hours...still tasted great. I used a bone-in pork loin roast and found that the second roasting only took about 40-45 minutes to get to 160º. Also, mine didn't make much drippings, so I didn't drain it or I wouldn't have had anything! Used sparkling apple cider rather than juice and as suggested, added a packet of brown gravy mix. Made the gravy a bit thick, so you may wish to consider adding more liquid. We all loved it...great for family and company alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I served this for Christmas dinner a pork rib roast, and it was fantastic. The gravy came out a little sweet though, next time I'll probably use a Knorr's pork grave as the base, and use a lot less maple syrup. I'll probably use hard cider instead of the apple juice as well. Oeverall, it really did make a beautiful presentation, and the leftovers were a lifesaver in the chaos of post Christmas cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
This recipe was so easy and my family LOVED it! It was so good with the apples and onions alone that we barely used the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
This is great on a cold fall day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
This was a very good dish. I was afraid the pork would be dry as I prepared it in the morning and reheated it for dinner -but it was very moist. I did not have apple juice or pure maple syrup so for the "gravy" I used water and and regular pancake syrup - it was very good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
Everyone in my family enjoyed this. My 11 yr old had 3 servings. I only rubbed the roast w/garlic, salt, pepper and thyme as that was all I had on hand. The best part was the gravy, which I made by adding an envelope of brown gravy mix as suggested by another reviewer. I served this with Suzy's Mashed Red Potatoes and Garlic Green Beans all from this site. Will make for company!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERNARAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Really great recipe! It was nice to have something different for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
Really great taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States