Herbed Pork and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars, although I wasn't thrilled with the gravy - too thin and too sweet. But the rub - Yumm. I've made this several times. I usually made the gravy as suggested and then add a jar of Pork Gravy Mix or Heinz Pork Gravy to it to "tame" and thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IBASHOPPER1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This was a very good recipe! I only give 5 stars to things that knock my socks off, but my family did enjoy this and we will have it again. Probably next time I won't use quite so much syrup as it was a little on the sweet side for me. My husband said that it was fine, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
This was an easy recipe to make with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
I WAS VERY EXCITED TO TRY THIS AND THEN DISAPOINTED, THE APPLES WERE WAY OVER DONE AND THE ONION WAS TO STRONG THE ROAST ITSELF WAS FINE BUT NOTHING SPECIAL MY FAMILY LEFT LOTS OF LEFTOVERS AND SAID IT WOULD BE OK IF I NEVER MADE IT AGAIN THIS JUST WASNT A HIT WITH MY FAMILY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
This was a very good pork recipe. I used only a 1.5 lb roast and used 1/2 tsp of each herb, but I used the same amount of apples and onions (I used regular cooking onion as I didn't have a red onion and it turned out great). I changed the sauce up a little, I didn't have any apple juice, so I used Ocean Spray white cranberry juice and I only added 1/2 cup of maple syrup as I thought 2/3 cup sounded like a bit much. In the end, I didn't find that the maple syrup flavour was easily recognizable in this dish, so the next time I make this dish (and there will be a next time), I will use 1/3 cup of brown sugar instead of the (significantly more expensive) maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
This was outrageously good--The roast was seasoned to perfection--the gravy was the perfect compliment to the meat the only thing I would change is next time I make it I would probably double the apple/onion/browns sugar mixture--with a small roast there was barely enough apples for 2 adults and 2 kids we just loved them. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I did not make the "gravy" because I thought it would be too sweet for my 8 year old. This was an excellent pork loin. Perfect. I followed a list suggestion to bake the pork loin for 30 minutes and then add apples for 50 minutes. this was a 2.5 lbs pork loin. Excellent. I served it with plain sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
This recipe was SO simple to prepare...I just made it for company on Sunday and it was a big hit. I added a few sliced parsnips to the apples and onions, the sweetness helped balance the tart parsnips. Served it with mashed sweet and baking potatoes and green beans almondine. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
INCREDIBLE--would use more apples, our family fought over them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
Not my favorite recipe. This recipe does not compare to some of the others from this site but was more than edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States