Herbed Pork and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
I did the unthinkable....made this roast for the first time and served it to guests. But your recipe rating format is so fool-proof that I knew a recipe with so many 5-star ratings had to be a hit. And it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
The rub on this was fairly good; however, I didn't care for the sweet "gravy". Thank goodness I had read other reviews that recommended a pack of pork gravy mix. Otherwise I don't think we would have been able to eat the roast. I also stuck a couple of cloves of garlic in the roast which helped it a lot. Even though the roast is actually quite a bit better the next day, I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
This was very good. Not something I'd make on a regular basis, but a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
First time I made this, I skipped the onion, as we had a guest who was allergic...I can hardly wait to try this recipe with our friends (and onions), because it was fantastic! Easy and delicious - I will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Rasca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
I'm sorry but I have to say I was disappointed with this recipe. The familly all liked the herb rub on the pork roast, but the gravy left a lot to be desired. The gravy was just too sweet and didn't seem to go well with the onions and apples. I was also disappointed in the way the onions and apples turned out. I had expected something a little more like the flavour of applesauce with the bite of onion for a twist. I will probably use the rub again but next time I will skip the onions apples and the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA MB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
This made some of the tastiest, juciest pork that I have ever had. We tried using a yellow onion but it wasn't quite the same. Also you may add more apples and brown sugar if you enjoy apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This was a truly delicious dish which I will be serving many times in the future. Everyone enjoyed it so much, I have already forwarded the recipe to several friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Yum! I made this adding the packet of brown gravy that the other reviewers has suggested and it was very good. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
We loved it. Be careful to not overcook the pork. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States