Herbed Pork and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
I used to hate pork until I tried this recipe. The herb rub really soaks flavor into the meat. I used poultry seasoning as the rub instead since I didn't have all the individual spices on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I made this just as written and I thought it was excellent; the pork was juicy and flavorful. I did not find the sauce as sweet as some others said. I wonder if they used real maple syrup- the real stuff isn't terribly sweet; the apple juice I used did not have sugar added. I felt the sauce and tart apples/ onions were a perfect accompaniment to the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
Made this for our Super Bowl party and it was a huge hit. I thought it was excellent! Shortly after that I ordered pork chops with apple chutney at our local Moose lodge and it was the same recipe! It was just as delicious as when I made it at home. I'll definetely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
This was OK. The pork tasted great. I will use the rub again. I didn't care much for the apples and gravy. Next time I'll roast the pork with root veggies(using the rub from this recipe) and make a standard pork gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
I didn't exactly follow the recipe, but used it as a starting point. I put some coarsely chopped onion in the crockpot, used the herb rub on a pork shoulder roast, put it in there with a cup of apple cider and cooked on high 5 hours. Turned out so tender and delicious. I served it with rice and thickened the broth with cornstarch. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
The meat rub was good. I would skip the apple maple syrup baste if I were to make this again---kind of had a burnt taste. Applesauce on the side for me next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
This was so easy and sooo delicious! Everyone raved about the gravy and the meat was tender and very moist. I will definately make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
EXCELLENT I SUGGEST TO EVERYONE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
This is the best pork I have ever had. I used a pork loin and was only able to have the pork sit for about 2 hours with the rub before cooking, but boy-oh-boy was it delicious. Don't scrimp on the sauce at the end. It adds that special dipping taste. Delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
A VERY GOOD RECIPE. HAS A WONDERFUL AROMA WHILE BAKING. I MADE IT FOR MY HUSBAND AND MYSELF AND BOUGHT A 3LB. ROAST SINCE IT WAS JUST US, AND THAT AMOUNT OF MEAT WAS JUST PERFECT. WITH SOME LEFTOVERS FOR YET ANOUTHER YUMMY MEAL. I DID HAVE A DIFFICULT TIME WITH THE PAN SAUCE, IT DIDN'T SEEM TO EVAPORATE AS I THOUGHT IT WOULD,AND WHEN IT DID IT BECAME HARD, ALMOST LIKE A CANDY,SO I ADDED MORE APPLE CIDER AND KEPT STIRRING UNTIL IT WAS OF A NICE CONSISTANCY. THE PAN SAUCE ENDED UP TASTING WONDERFUL AND THE MEAT WAS NICE AND MOIST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States