Herbed Mushrooms with White Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
While I always make sauteed mushrooms when Hubs grills steaks, I've never seasoned them quite like this, nor have I cooked them with wine. These had such great flavor! Hubs and I both enjoyed them. So you don't boil or stew the mushrooms, make sure your heat is up high enough when you add the wine so that it reduces quickly. I added the chives just before serving to retain their color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Add a little butter near the end to finish the dish -- also, use a variety of mushrooms for a little extra boost...I don't salt the mushrooms until the very end, as it draws out too much moisture during the saute process..sprinkle with a little fresh chopped parsley and if you like, a little grated parmeseean cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Mmmm. I just finished eating a plate full of "herbed mushrooms with white wine" and I am still a little dizzy from how delicious they were! They had all the incredible flavor you'd expect from some fancy restaurant and yet I made them in my own home for about two bucks and in about five minutes. Amazing. With garlic, white wine and olive oil you just can't go wrong. The 'shrooms were meaty and delicious. note: I used half butter half olive oil another note: learn from my mistake and don't add the garlic early! It will burn and get bitter. (Even with the toasty garlic though, this was SO yummy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marywether07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
A wonderfully yummy and easy accompaniment to steak. Remember that the mushrooms lose a lot of volume during cooking so be sure to start with far more than you think you'll need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Superb!! I'll make for my next dinner party! I used Baby Bellas, and used butter instead of olive oil. I found an italian herb grinder (disposable, filled w/ herbs) in my grocery store for about $2.79 and used that, it was sooooo yummy, tasted more like fresh herbs than dried. A total hit & keeper- easy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Its very good! I dont like mushrooms all that much but this recipe makes them taste wonderful. I added a pinch of oregano, basil, and thyme. Then I placed the mushrooms over pasta with alfredo sauce. It works for a very quick, tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I absolutely love mushrooms! These herbed mushrooms were so tasty and full of flavor-nothing overpowering. I bought a container of white button mushrooms, cleaned it with a damp paper towel and cut in half. Since I am new to " white wine" I bought a small 4 pack of chardonnay, not sure where to start. The only thing I did not have on hand and could not find nearby was fresh chives. Towards the end I added a pinch of salt and pepper. This did not take long to cook and I could smell the wonderful wine, garlic and mushrooms. I made these with,"Grilled Delmonico Steaks," from this site, and with brown rice. I ate everything up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Excellent recipe!! I followed the recipe exactly except for the chives which I did not have. My husband is not a mushroom fan but he really liked this dish. I used it as a side dish but these mushrooms would be great on a burger too. Thanks so much for sharing such a quick, easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This is a great recipe but, there's no need to cook down the wine. I just heated it. We couldn't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mad Cook
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Excellent mushrooms! I used Belle mushrooms, I'm not sure what the difference between those and regular mushrooms are, but they looked good when I bought them. I also used white cooking wine instead of "dry white" as directed and a little more olive oil than ordered, just a little because I wasn't sure what was going to happen to those poor mushrooms without it. Turns out they lose a lot of their moisture into the pan and I probably didn't need to add any extra. I will definately make this again, it tasted and smelled great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mad Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Shorewood, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States