Herbed Greek Roasted Potatoes with Feta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Very good recipe, Cyndi! I scaled it down quite a bit, but I wish I wouldn't have with the mint. My family discovered they liked feta, so thanks for that, too! I would recommend cooking this in foil that has been sprayed because it burned a little in my pan. I think next time I'll cut the potatoes in rounders rather than wedges, and I'll add the feta for the last minute or so of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
WOWZA! Cindy these were completely fabulous in every sense of the word. Here is what I did different. I precooked the potatoes in the micro to give them a head start, We are under another heat advisory again and I was using the grill outside, no 400 degree oven for me tonight. I did cut back on the water since they were partially cooked, but followed everything else to the T. I did have a few fresh picked green beans that needed to be used so I added that to the potatoes in my grill pan. Really wonderful and yes I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Cyndi, this recipe gives potatoes a great flavor. Will be making these often. I did not have 80 min. to bake them so I microwaved them for 10 min on high, covered, then put them in the oven(uncovered) for 35 min until the potatoes were tender and browned. I did not have fresh mint but it tasted fantastic without it. Thanks Cyndi, great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5THSISTER
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
5 stars from each and every one of us! I made this as written except that I cut the potatoes smaller, substituted chicken broth for the water and marinaded the potatoes to include the herbs. These were done in about an hour at 410. Delicious and a big hit with the whole family. I served with my "Mediterranean" style turkey meatloaf and it made for the perfect dinner! Thank you, Cyndi, for sharing an outstanding side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5THSISTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Oooh. SOOOO yummy!!! Made these to accompany the marinated Greek chicken kabobs (katplusgoll) I made for dinner tonight. I was thinking of taking the easy route and just opening a pouch of Uncle Ben's rice pilaf to serve on the side, but I am SOOO glad I didn't. :) I pretty much followed Cat Lady's directions to the letter except for a few minor changes. First, I halved everything since this was a side dish for two people. Second, I used the full amount of herbs called for (we like herbs!). And finally, I subbed chicken broth for water and used more of it (my potatoes seemed dry half way thru the first 40 minutes, so I added a 1/2 c. more at that point and another 1/2 c. when I added my herbs). Oh, and I also used herbed instead of plain feta (yummy!). THREE TIPS: a) if you want to prep ahead of time, simply cut your potatoes and add to a large pot of water; then add a bit of lemon juice to prevent browning, b) if you rinse / drain your potatoes and then dry (with a kitchen towel) REALLY well, you'll end up with perfectly crisp potatoes (this process removes excess starch which prevents potatoes from crisping up) and c) spread your potatoes on a WELL-GREASED, wide rimmed baking sheet and roast on the top rack of your oven (you'll also find that this helps crisp everything up, again, if you like your potatoes slightly crisp...). Thanks for sharing, Cyndi! This one's going in my "keeper" file for sure. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by tahoegirl
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
HOLY SMOKES! these potatoes are fabulous -- perhaps the best i have ever made. i put these in a cast iron skillet on the grill, covered with foil, and let them bake for 40 minutes. the feta adds such a nice subtle flavor to these. this will be my go to potato recipe from now on. thanks so much cyndi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nobody'sGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Excellent! This had all the flavor of my favorite souvlaki, but on potatoes! My only caveat, and it is small, is that there was too much oil. I had to drain some off to get a crispiness. No biggie, I probably had them in a smaller pan than what is required. The cooking time was perfect for me (the water keeps them from burning). I added my oregano at the specified time, but left my mint until just before serving. I wanted it to look really bright and fresh. Thanks for a great recipe! I'm already planning to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
WOW! These potatoes are amazing! The only change I made was I didn't add any water. They came out slightly more crunchy which is fine by us! I will definitely be making these again. Thank you Cat Lady Cyndi. MMmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
These are good. I made half the recipe to feed 4 and should have made all 10 servings. I did increase the mint to 1 tablespoon because we do like mint and a teaspoon just seemed puny. This is a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Simply Awesome! This is a fabulous Mediterranean take on regular 'ol roasted potatoes. I LOVE feta cheese, so I had to give this a try and I'm so glad I did. I cut the recipe in half, used red potatoes that I quarted and opted out of using the water. I also seasoned with the oregano from the start. I cooked these at 425 vs. 450 turning them a few times during cooking. The feta cheese really makes the dish and the presentation is very nice. This is a definite keeper. Thanks for a great recipe, Cat Lady Cyndi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States