Herbed Greek Roasted Potatoes with Feta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Great taste - I may have overcooked them a little, and need to grease the pan a little bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violinstringer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Thought these were just okay. I cut the recipe in half and found it to be very bland. If I were to make these again I would only half the amount of potatoes as 2 1/2 lbs were plenty for our household of 5 adults. Just needed more flavor for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
we loved this! the only change i made was adding a little rosemary with the other seasoning and cutting the potato into smaller cubes to cook faster. will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Yum! Didn't change a thing except to cut it down to four servings - Delicious! I served with Easy Mediterranean Fish from this site and it was a match made in heaven! Delicious! (Yes, I know I'm repeating myself, but they are...) Thanks, Cyndi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Oooh. SOOOO yummy!!! Made these to accompany the marinated Greek chicken kabobs (katplusgoll) I made for dinner tonight. I was thinking of taking the easy route and just opening a pouch of Uncle Ben's rice pilaf to serve on the side, but I am SOOO glad I didn't. :) I pretty much followed Cat Lady's directions to the letter except for a few minor changes. First, I halved everything since this was a side dish for two people. Second, I used the full amount of herbs called for (we like herbs!). And finally, I subbed chicken broth for water and used more of it (my potatoes seemed dry half way thru the first 40 minutes, so I added a 1/2 c. more at that point and another 1/2 c. when I added my herbs). Oh, and I also used herbed instead of plain feta (yummy!). THREE TIPS: a) if you want to prep ahead of time, simply cut your potatoes and add to a large pot of water; then add a bit of lemon juice to prevent browning, b) if you rinse / drain your potatoes and then dry (with a kitchen towel) REALLY well, you'll end up with perfectly crisp potatoes (this process removes excess starch which prevents potatoes from crisping up) and c) spread your potatoes on a WELL-GREASED, wide rimmed baking sheet and roast on the top rack of your oven (you'll also find that this helps crisp everything up, again, if you like your potatoes slightly crisp...). Thanks for sharing, Cyndi! This one's going in my "keeper" file for sure. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This makes a ton of potatoes if you go with the original servings, but that's okay because I had a lot of potatoes to use up! I'd like a bit more mint because I really didn't taste it, but otherwise this is a good recipe. If you decide to make the entire recipe, use your biggest bowl to mix and use at least a 9x13 roasting pan. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I chose this recipe because of the the fresh mint (and the lemon... and the feta). I followed the listed recipe, using a bit less olive oil than instructed, but added about 10 (sad-looking) grape tomatoes right before roasting. Topped the roasted lemony potatoes with the fresh mint and fresh oregano (the garden is going crazy with the stuff) then chunks of salty feta.... Delicious! (even cold straight from the 'fridge). Many thanks to Cat Lady Cyndi for a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I have got to say these were soooooo good. I marinated the potatoes in everything before putting in a casserole dish and put on the grill at 375deg for about 1 1/2 - 2 hrs. Neighbors behind us came home and could immediately smell the garlic and lemon and invited themselves over for Gyros and these potatoes.....lmao. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi'sHunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Red Lion, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Loved these, but left out the mint (sort of ambivalent about it). I used one large lemon (because I don't measure much) so whatever that produced was enough to give just a hint of lemon to the potatoes. Lots of oregano, and I also used some prepared Greek seasoning I saw while shopping for this recipe. Garlic is a must and I left in the water to better distribute the lemon juice.. the oil alone does create a crispier potato, but I think you don't get the same sort of flavor distribution you want. Feta at the end adds a sharp, delicious tang. If you like feta, you'll be glad you added it, but if you don't, skip it, the potatoes stand on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States