Herbed Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
We loved the strong herb flavor. We have cut back on salt, these potatoes had great flavor without adding salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
There was way too much thyme in this for us. There was also too much liquid, they came out very runny and plain. I added a lot of salt and parmesan cheese in order to try to rescue them. Won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I think the secret to GREAT mashed potatos is three things in this recipe: olive oil, rosemary and thyme (and of course salt). Made otherwise plain potatos taste awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I only used a half teaspoon of thyme as I didn't want to overpower the rest of the flavors in this dish. I actually used 6 large red potatoes and butter instead of olive oil. The roasted garlic really was what made the dish. It was just perfect with the thyme and rosemary. I liked it but my three boys were kind of less than thrilled. Too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I followed the recipe but they came out kind of runny. Maybe use huge potatoes or cut back on all that milk. Very tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzicat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I used two heads of garlic, a mixture of herbs I have basil, dill, marjoram, parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme, and I used a lot less milk. My family and I really liked it and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJC57

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I made this to go with beef tenderloin with roasted, scallion port wine gravy for New Years Eve dinner. I loved the roasted garlic but overall the recipe was a little blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
These had good flavor. I think I would add some sour cream next time. I liked the herb mixture, I can see why others would not though. Personally, I like to put fresh cilantro in my mashed potatoes. Roasting the garlic definitely made a nice extra-garlic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
We loved these. I skipped the first part because I buy the bulk minced garlic at Sam's. I do like chicken broth in my potatoes so I used way less milk & some chicken broth. I usually always use butter but the olive oil was a very nice change. I am feeding a large family so I used way more potatoes. Everyone really loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This had a weird taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States