Herbed Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
this was a good recipe...although not perfect. I would also cut down on the herbs, maybe to just the rosemary. Also i tried a rosemary garlic version of this where i roasted the garlic. I also boiled the potatoes with half the liquid consisting of water and half chicken broth and added garlic. Well ive tried many versions...you can always play with mashed potatoes. By far the best gravy i have ever had consisted of 2 cups of my chicken broth i boiled the potatoes in and the rest turkey stock and added chopped portobello mushrooms...it was to die for. I wouldnt use olive oil in mashed potatoes, use butter. You dont want that oily consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMANKAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This recipe was delicious! I am wondering though... Were the 3 potatoes you use really big? When I made this I followed the recipe exactly only I used 6 medium sized potatoes...it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
I liked these mashed potatoes quite a bit -- however, if I make them again, I probably will cut down a bit on the herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANVEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaines, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
No one in my family liked this recipe at all! I reduced the milk so it wouldn't be runny and slightly reduced the herbs. I think there were still too many herbs and the flavor didn't blend well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
I followed the recipe and they came out kind of thin. My husband is still ragging on me about it. They did taste ok but the texture wasn't great. It might need some adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
Great recipe for mashed potatoes! Next time I think I will use less herbs, but still great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
I would make this recipe again, but I think I would omit the thyme. Just too much for my taste. The roasted garlic gave it a very good flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
I thought it was kind of bland, so I added the broth I roasted the garlic head in and it turned out really good. The consistency of the potatoes was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
This was ok but I dont see how the originar recipe made 5 servings. I had 7 people to feed and I had way more than double the potatoes. And I trippled all the other ingredients except the garlic (I didn't want it over powered) but it just wasn't as tasty as I thought it would be. I might try it again but I will do it as the original recipe says and see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
Pretty good recipe for mashed potatoes, and pretty healthy, too. The roasted garlic lends it a really subtle garlic flavor, it is what makes the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States