Herbed Chicken Nuggets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I didn't add the red pepper flakes but I did everything else. The only thing I think is that this needs a small touch of salt. One thing I found though is that if you don't add in the oil with the crumb mixture but rather spray it on before baking it makes them crispier. We personally liked it this way better. We also used boneless skinless chilcken thighs instead of the breasts and like that better too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2000
this was a good recipe, but was not kid freindly. If you would like it kid freindly delete the red pepper and half the black pepper. I aslo used a whole cup of bread crumbs because we do not like wheat germs. They tasted great. So enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Wow! These are great and not bad for you at all compared to normal chicken nuggets. I think it took longer to cut the chicken up than anything else. I used a Italian herbs mix rather than the herbs listed. Also, I did not add oil to the dry mix, I drizzled the nuggets once they were on the cookie sheet. I think that I might try breading and freezing them then pulling them out to cook at my convinience. UPDATE: I now make a double batch and freeze half. Once defrosted, I make them exactly the same and they turn out great. My husband is usually a snob about frozen meat and he was surprised to hear (after he finished eating) that they had been frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Added 2 tbsp of parmesan and 2/3 c of bread crumbs instead of adding the wheat germ. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
These are really easy, fast and yummy! The only problem I had was that they didn't get very crispy, but I may have undercooked them a few minutes in an attempt to keep them from getting OVER done. I used Italian seasoning and Italian bread crumbs, and added some powdered garlic. My 2 year old LOVES them! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
These were amazing! One thing to keep in mind: They are very spicy due to both the ground black pepper and the crushed red pepper. Next time I will omit the red pepper and half the black. They were easy to prepare and done quickly. However, they didn't get as crispy as I would have liked. Next time I will cook them longer or put them under the broiler. EDIT: I've made these again and they turned out much crispier. I double breaded them. I first marinated them in Italian dressing, then dipped them in the bread crumb mixture, then dipped them in the egg and then back in the bread crumb mixture. Also, I baked them on a wire rack on top of a baking sheet according to the recipe. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki_dw

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
really good and tasty. I used olive oil instead of veggie oil, though, which made it even tastier! Thanks, Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
These turned out so moist, tender, and yummy, with just the right amount of crisp-ness on the outside. I was worried they would dry out from the high cooking temp, but they were perfect. Served with Honey Mustard Dressing II also from Allrecipes. Used only 2 chicken breasts and almost didn't have enough bread crumb mixture. I used Trader Joe's bread crumbs to eliminate trans-fats. I omitted the veggie oil and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
these were absolutely wonderful. instead of wheat germ i added some crushed walnuts and butter crackers. other than that i stuck to the recipe. excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolineskr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Living In: Norcross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
My whole family loves this recipe. My two year old cleans his plate every time I make these. I have discovered that straining the chicken out of the egg mixture with a slotted spoon helps the breading to stick to the chicken better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Herbed Chicken Nuggets

See how to make tender baked chicken nuggets with an herb breading.

Baked Chicken Nuggets

See how to make a tasty appetizer that’s also a real kid-pleaser.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States