Herbed Batter Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Not sure if the original is worth a 5, but I altered the recipe which is why I'm giving it a 5. I used 2 1/4 tsp active dry yeast, 1/2 tsp sugar 1/2 cup warm water, 1 cup plus 4 Tbsp flour, 1 Tbsp Oil, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 1/4 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp oregano 1/2 tsp basil, and 2 Tbsp Parmesan cheese. All I can say is YUM YUM...straight from the lips and onto the hips!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
I will look forward to trying these - my children are grown but they stil love rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
This is the only bread recipe that I can do with awesome results. It is the easiest and the quality of the rolls are great, especially during the holidays. I have also made more than the recipe calls for. I suggest using a 12 muffin tin. I have used different herbs that I like such as thyme, and rosemary when I make them with a roasted chicken. Experiment with the recipe. And make sure to place this one in your recipe box, because people will be asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara M. Haas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
There is no doubt that this is one of the best rolls recipes I have ever had. My husband almost prefered the rolls over the main course. This recipe will definately be used again and again. Thank you for the recipe, I only wish I could give it more than 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
These were really good like another reviewer noted they are like a cross between a dinner roll and a muffin but they are delicious. Can't wait to make them again with other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Quick, easy, delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out beautiful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
These came out just lovely. But, of course, I wouldn't be an Allrecipes reviewer if I didn't have to admit to changing a few things. I used a tablespoon of italian seasoning instead of the recommended seasoning, 1/2 a tablespoon of garlic powder (and next time plan to use real minced garlic, just to experiment), and about an ounce of fresh grated parm reggiano. The rolls came out perfect and delicious, nice and herb-y. I am very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
awesome! made them with half wholewheat flour. herbs were very subtle, and they were SO light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
My second time working with yeast. I got a little nervous because the dough really never rose but I went ahead and put the dough into a 6 jumbo muffin tin kept them on top of the stove covered while the oven preheated and they finally GREW. I guess they needed more warmth. Put them in the oven and they came out beautiful. Nice and golden and delicious. Tarragon is my favorite herb so I will definitely keep this recipe in my recipe collection. Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
My children all loved these! Excellent base recipe for rolls. I did add garlic powder, rosemary and parmesan. These would also be super with cheddar cheese inside. Could use a bit more salt and tiny bit less sugar. But they were delicious. The kids liked the muffin shape, My husband did not (he usually hates sweets--I think there was a connection he made)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpgFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States