Herbed Batter Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Not sure if the original is worth a 5, but I altered the recipe which is why I'm giving it a 5. I used 2 1/4 tsp active dry yeast, 1/2 tsp sugar 1/2 cup warm water, 1 cup plus 4 Tbsp flour, 1 Tbsp Oil, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 1/4 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp oregano 1/2 tsp basil, and 2 Tbsp Parmesan cheese. All I can say is YUM YUM...straight from the lips and onto the hips!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
These were good, easy rolls... nothing spectacular, but definitely a good recipe to have around when you want to whip up some quick rolls for dinner. I added parmesan cheese to the batter, which was very good. I just want to know-- in what world does this recipe make 8 rolls??? I made 12, & I filled the muffin cups almost to the top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
This is the only bread recipe that I can do with awesome results. It is the easiest and the quality of the rolls are great, especially during the holidays. I have also made more than the recipe calls for. I suggest using a 12 muffin tin. I have used different herbs that I like such as thyme, and rosemary when I make them with a roasted chicken. Experiment with the recipe. And make sure to place this one in your recipe box, because people will be asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara M. Haas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
I will look forward to trying these - my children are grown but they stil love rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
These were very good rolls, and I gratefully extend my thanks to the author. However, there are a few pointers I'd like to share which may help other readers: 1) You may need to add more herbs, they could've used a "kick" 2) I used my 6-muffin jumbo tin and it worked well;I would not have have enough batter for the 12-muffin tin, unless I made these super small, and if you do that, what's the point? 3) Don't drop them by spoonfuls into the tins - wet your hand and grab blobfuls, it's much easier! This recipe is a keeper and we enjoyed them last night with spaghetti & meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheri O.
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Surprisingly good. I'm used to garlic herbed rolls and these were on the sweeter, lighter side. A nice change from the typical herbed roll. Be prepared for very gooey batter but they rose well and baked sooner than the time allotted for. I only needed to spray cooking oil (Pam) in the muffin pan and they didn't stick at all. Everyone loved it and they were very quick. I love how it didn't require kneading and only used one bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri O.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
These are very easy to make. Cross between a biscuit and a hearty dinner muffin. It went well with the Italian Sausage Soup on this site. I did 'tweek' it a bit on the spices, I added parmesan cheese (from the can), Italian seasoning and garlic powder instead of sage, tarrogon, and nutmeg due to having an Italian dinner. But the basis of this recipe IS a keeper! I'm sure with different meals, your mind could go wild and the list could be endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
There is no doubt that this is one of the best rolls recipes I have ever had. My husband almost prefered the rolls over the main course. This recipe will definately be used again and again. Thank you for the recipe, I only wish I could give it more than 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
These were easy to make considering it was my first experience with a yeast rising bread. In fact my eleven yr. old daughter helped me make them. The texture of the rolls were very good, almost a cross between a biscuit and a roll. I think I'll try a different combo of spices next time as the sage, nutmeg flavor wasn't my favorite. Will try with rosemary or maybe dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I tried this recipe and made some changes like using basil, chives and dill. They were yummy the first day but the second day they just don't seem as moist and they were in a sealed container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrianna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States