Herbed Batter Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I would give these a 3.5 if I could. They had good flavor and were super easy, but the texture was a little strange for a dinner roll. Good base recipe...you can definitely change this one around to suit your own tastes and if you're looking for something quick this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
These are awesome! My whole family gobbles them down. I however omit the sage, terragon and nutmeg and add different spices such as sun dried tomato & herb, dill, onion etc based on what I am serving them with. The basic recipe is perfect for any type of bun or bread. The only other thing I change is to use bread flour instead of all purpose flour. I have also used it to make a loaf for garlic bread. This one is definitely staying in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Brydges, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
We didn't like these at all. Extremely heavy and dense, a cross between a biscuit and a muffin. Flavor wasn't that hot either. Won't make them again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
My children all loved these! Excellent base recipe for rolls. I did add garlic powder, rosemary and parmesan. These would also be super with cheddar cheese inside. Could use a bit more salt and tiny bit less sugar. But they were delicious. The kids liked the muffin shape, My husband did not (he usually hates sweets--I think there was a connection he made)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpgFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I love the fact that this recipe does not require kneading the dough but...I didn't care for the texture. I wanted more of a fluffy roll. This was more like a biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Sheri O.
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Surprisingly good. I'm used to garlic herbed rolls and these were on the sweeter, lighter side. A nice change from the typical herbed roll. Be prepared for very gooey batter but they rose well and baked sooner than the time allotted for. I only needed to spray cooking oil (Pam) in the muffin pan and they didn't stick at all. Everyone loved it and they were very quick. I love how it didn't require kneading and only used one bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri O.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meagan
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
These were delicious. I realized half way into baking that I had no eggs so I just added a tbs. of baking soda. I also added some spinach and 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese. They smelled wonderful and were not very dense at all. 4 stars only because the original recipe would probably be too bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
My second time working with yeast. I got a little nervous because the dough really never rose but I went ahead and put the dough into a 6 jumbo muffin tin kept them on top of the stove covered while the oven preheated and they finally GREW. I guess they needed more warmth. Put them in the oven and they came out beautiful. Nice and golden and delicious. Tarragon is my favorite herb so I will definitely keep this recipe in my recipe collection. Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
awesome! made them with half wholewheat flour. herbs were very subtle, and they were SO light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
These came out just lovely. But, of course, I wouldn't be an Allrecipes reviewer if I didn't have to admit to changing a few things. I used a tablespoon of italian seasoning instead of the recommended seasoning, 1/2 a tablespoon of garlic powder (and next time plan to use real minced garlic, just to experiment), and about an ounce of fresh grated parm reggiano. The rolls came out perfect and delicious, nice and herb-y. I am very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States