Herbal Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I love tuna salad for lunch - this was a bit different with the addition of Worcestershire sauce which I haven't seen in many tuna salad recipes. I used light mayo, light sour cream, dijon for the prepared mustard and added a little garlic powder. Since you're adding lemon zest, you may as well add a couple squirts of fresh lemon juice. I didn't bother putting this into the food processor but rather choppped the eggs very fine and added some chopped celery as well. Overall, if I made this again I might leave out the Worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Excellent. A good blend of spices and condiments for a different flavor. Don't change anything on this recipe. Serve it on melba toast or romaine lettuce with club crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
Didn't have any sour cream nor lemons so I doubled the mayo and used 1/2 ts of lemon juice. I also grated the eggs and mixed everthing in a bowl rather than mess up my food prosseser. Really GOOD! I love the use of herbs. Makes good chedder Tuna Melts. The Fish flavor is still there but I can blame that on the canned tuna I used. Might be good with some capers??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
I don't eat tuna fish and that makes it very difficult for me to prepare it for my husband's lunch. He is also a picky eater and doesn't like onions, pickles or eggs. So I am always looking for ways to make it flavorful without those ingredients. He loved this recipe, although I did leave out the eggs. I will continue to use it since this seems to be his favorite of the ones I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
This is quite tasty-the worcestershire sauce is a nice touch. I did not puree the eggs. I like my tuna salad nice and chunky. I also used fresh rosemary because I had it on hand and plain yogurt because I didn't have sour cream. Not spectacular, but tasty enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
Rather than making my traditional tuna salad, I tried this recipe because it had received so many high ratings. I was however unimpressed with the taste and the texture of this tuna salad. Placing the eggs in a food processor with the mayo and other ingredients (minus the tuna of course) resulted in a tuna spread rather than a chuncky tuna salad. In addition, I thought the overall result was rather tasteless. I personally didn't care for this recipe and won't be using it again :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
I didn't find anything special about this recipe. Maybe my spices are just old, but I didn't think they did much for the tuna salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDREFFITT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Missouri, USA
Living In: Raytown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gwynne Kloch
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This is a great recipe that makes tuna salad really classy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I would have given this a 3, since the lemon was overpowering, but that was partly my fault, since one can of tuna fish that I used was flavored with lemon already. I didn't use a food processor, since I wanted the tuna and egg chunky, but the only problem with that was the rosemary pieces (next time I will leave it out, or grind it first). I also won't add any lemon next time, due to my unpleasant first experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
This was a very good recipe. I also chopped the eggs and I added more mayo. Overall though, it was delicious! Such a pleasant change from the average tuna salad. We ate these as sandwiches on pita bread. Next time I'll add some celery and green onions for my husband though. Thanks Shelley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reiscakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States