Herbal Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I love tuna salad for lunch - this was a bit different with the addition of Worcestershire sauce which I haven't seen in many tuna salad recipes. I used light mayo, light sour cream, dijon for the prepared mustard and added a little garlic powder. Since you're adding lemon zest, you may as well add a couple squirts of fresh lemon juice. I didn't bother putting this into the food processor but rather choppped the eggs very fine and added some chopped celery as well. Overall, if I made this again I might leave out the Worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Excellent. A good blend of spices and condiments for a different flavor. Don't change anything on this recipe. Serve it on melba toast or romaine lettuce with club crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
Didn't have any sour cream nor lemons so I doubled the mayo and used 1/2 ts of lemon juice. I also grated the eggs and mixed everthing in a bowl rather than mess up my food prosseser. Really GOOD! I love the use of herbs. Makes good chedder Tuna Melts. The Fish flavor is still there but I can blame that on the canned tuna I used. Might be good with some capers??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
I don't eat tuna fish and that makes it very difficult for me to prepare it for my husband's lunch. He is also a picky eater and doesn't like onions, pickles or eggs. So I am always looking for ways to make it flavorful without those ingredients. He loved this recipe, although I did leave out the eggs. I will continue to use it since this seems to be his favorite of the ones I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
This is quite tasty-the worcestershire sauce is a nice touch. I did not puree the eggs. I like my tuna salad nice and chunky. I also used fresh rosemary because I had it on hand and plain yogurt because I didn't have sour cream. Not spectacular, but tasty enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
Rather than making my traditional tuna salad, I tried this recipe because it had received so many high ratings. I was however unimpressed with the taste and the texture of this tuna salad. Placing the eggs in a food processor with the mayo and other ingredients (minus the tuna of course) resulted in a tuna spread rather than a chuncky tuna salad. In addition, I thought the overall result was rather tasteless. I personally didn't care for this recipe and won't be using it again :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
I didn't find anything special about this recipe. Maybe my spices are just old, but I didn't think they did much for the tuna salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDREFFITT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Missouri, USA
Living In: Raytown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I used 2 eggs but halved the rest of the ingredients (because I only had 1 can of tuna). I didn't have lemon zest so I substituted a squirt of lemon juice. I did put everything in a food processor before mixing with the tuna. Glad I did because I didn't need to use half of the sauce (so I saved it in the refrigerator for later, when I can get more tuna). I also mixed in a chopped green onion. Since I'm trying to live without bread, I ate it on celery sticks and also made a lettuce leaf burrito. Both were delicious! Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Love

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This was very good and quite healthy and low in carbs/sugar. I cut this down to three servings, added a couple chopped garlic dill pickles and that was just enough for my boys and I. I left theirs on whole wheat bread but I had mine mixed up with a little shredded cabbage and it really was super filling. Next time, I think I could get away with a little less mayo and sour cream, but as is, we all enjoyed it. Thanks! NOTE: I also did not puree any ingredients. We like ours a little chunkier so that worked well for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This is a nice change from the same old tuna. I omitted the egg, but followed everything else exactly. I tasted as soon as I made it and thought it was ok, but after it was refrigerated for a few hours and the flavors had an opportunity to meld it was wonderful. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States