Herb and Beer Braised Rabbit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I used this recipe for my son's first rabbit. I was so worried the meat would be chewy, but I am happy to report the rabbit meat was incredibly tender and delicious! I substituted potatoes for mushrooms, used dried herbs, and skipped the last step. The whole family raved about it! I highly recommend you give it a try, you won't be disappointed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I made this with my son's first rabbit, with great anticipation. it was good, but it needed something. I will try it again, but increase the beer and decrease the broth, and experiment with the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcoralee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This was my first attempt at cooking rabbit, and I really enjoyed it. Once I've perfected my preparation of the rabbit it'll be easier to cook, but that is my short coming. I could have thickened up the broth a little more too. Again, my fault. This was my make or break test for whether or not I cook more rabbit, and I definitely will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad Arbic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robert Courteau
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Rabbit was freshly killed, and used wild own-picked (dried) mushrooms. Added some of the mushroom water to the pot as well. The leftover sauce will be turned into a rabbit-flavour mushroom soup tomorrow :) 4/5 because the rabbit was still very tough, I'd braise for longer than 30minutes. Perhaps 45 will suffice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Courteau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This recipe was a disservice to the rabbit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was soooo good! The gravy/sauce was delicious, too. I will definately make this again. I followed the recipe but left out the mushrooms and I was out of thyme and basil, so still made it without those spices and it was still fabulous. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawnrenfro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This was absolutely delicious. I cannot recommend this enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carla December
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
A total hit this evening with the orzo. Thanks again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla December

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This is my favorite dinner recipe of all time! I've made it so many times I've lost count. I often get up early on Saturday to get to the farmer's market for a rabbit before they sell out - just so I can make this! Use wild mushrooms if you can. I especially like shiitakes with this. Fresh herbs are NOT optional! And the beer I use is Shiner Bock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Excellent recipe. The rabbit was tender and full of flavor. We both enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States