Herb Rubbed Sirloin Tip Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joel
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
As submitter of this recipe, I would like to make the following comments based on the reviews that I have read. Many of the reviews state that it is too salty; I admittedly love salt so the amount of salt may indeed be too much for some. I would point out that if you are using table salt to cut the amount of salt in 1/2. Many users also ask if this is good on other cuts of meat, I use it on all cuts of meat (beef and pork) especially roast. For poultry, I might suggest replacing the oregano with sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2513 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shannon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This is the First sirloin tip roast that I have made that turned out to excel in flavor and texture. I have tried many times before to make a tip roast with them all ending up to be tough and dry. Your recipe produced comments by all, that it tasted just like prime rib! It was tender and juicy and flavorful. It turned out excellent! The recipe is called herb, but it is more on the spicy side...not overwhelming though. I did follow the recipe to a T...however I put the spice rub on and let the meat come to room tempature before baking. After an hour of cooking, I checked the meat for internal tempature of 140 degrees (rare) and when it reached that temperature, I turned off the oven and allowed it to sit another 15 to 30 minutes in the oven to produce medium rare. Came out excellent!! Thank you very much for sharing this excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
Very, very good. The meat turned out moist and tender. I cooked mine in the crockpot for 6 hours on low and 1 hour on high. The spices were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
959 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This was truly delicious! I substituted fresh chopped garlic for the garlic powder and lowered the temp a bit. I had a 5 pound roast so I dropped the temp to 325 and cooked it for about an hour. (Until the temp reached 135), then I rested it while I made the gravy and mashed the potatoes. This roast produced one of the best gravies I've ever made. I cooked it on a rack in a shallow baking pan and put a can of beef broth and a couple of bay leaves underneath it. While the beef rested I strained the broth into a butter roux. (The broth had concentrated and it was a little salty so I added about 1/2 cup of water.) The resulting gravy was delicious. I'll definitely use this rub again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
409 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
I used a 3 lb tri tip roast for the meat. Combined the ingredients and put the roast in a big baggie and put the rub all over it and let it marinate in the fridge for 4 hours. Cooked it on my grill using the indirect method for about 36 minutes. You have to let it rest for 10 minutes or so. But oh my god!!!! We all just LOVED it. The meat was so juicy and tender and so very very tasty!! If I could, I would have given this 10 stars!!! Served it with potato salad and fresh corn on the cob. SCRUMPTIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
353 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
very tasty! i needed to cook it less time, though... i like it medium rare. i followed the directions but it kinda got too well done. my parents used to cook a roast at 200 degrees, one hour per pound and it came out perfecto. i shall try this rub with their timing next time. I loved that I had all the ingredients to this rub! thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
This is such a good combination of spices! I use it for more than just this particular recipe, too: One variation I enjoy, particularly, is to add a couple tablespoons of flour to the mixture, then I braise the meat shortly before putting it into the oven to cook; the "blackened" crust that forms on the roast is second only to the amazing gravy that comes from the drippings. My fiance and his brother will never be able to eat at home anymore because I've outdone their mom...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
The best rub I've ever made. Followed it to a tee but used 1/2 T of table salt instead of 1 T kosher. Used a 2 lb tri tip roast at 350 for 45 minutes (until 140 degree internal), turned off heat, let sit for 15 minutes, remove from oven, cover with foil, and sit another 10 minutes. Came out perfectly medium rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I love rubbed roasts, and mixing the herbs and spices with olive oil ensures the flavors will stick. The 15 min. rest time allows dried herbs to swell, the oil to absorb flavors, and helps make all very easily spreadable. This roast comes out exactly medium rare, the way we like it. An instant-read meat thermometer is essential, especially when roasting for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
All I can say is YUM! I used minced fresh garlic instead of the garlic powder and added some celery seed. I roasted it with carrots, celery, onion, cauliflower, asparagas, and red pepper and a splash of port to keep the veggies from drying out. It was wonderful! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMS13408

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,029) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Herb-Rubbed Sirloin Tip Roast

This easy mix of spices makes your roast something truly special.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States