Herb Roasted Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Probably one of the best pork roast I've ever made. I took a glass baking dish about the size of my roast and spead the dry ingredients in there. I added way more than called for because I like my roast to be crusted on the outside, not burned. I also added garlic salt. Then I rolled my roast in the seasonings. No need to add oil to the roast before coating. I placed the roast in one of those large black roasting pans with a cake rack on the bottom so it would not sit in it's drippings. No need to cover it with foil. I cooked mine for 2 hours & 45 minutes at 325 degrees and it did not burn. I also used a meat thermometer. Definately double the sauce. I combined all my ingredients except for the cornstarch and got it warm first. Then I had a whisk on hand when I added the cornstarch slowly so it wouldn't clump up. If your sauce gets too thick just add a little more vinegar. At 2 1/2 hours I took the roast out and drizzled about 1/2 cup of sauce over the roast. I did not brush it because I didn't want to rub off my seasonings. I put it back in the oven for another 15 minutes and it was perfect. I will use this sauce with other meals. It reminded me of the Chinese BBQ sauce on hula beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
359 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This was an amazing dish!I used balsamic vinegar, and was a bit worried since the mix of soy sauce and the balsamic looked so dark on the roast, but the flavour was outstanding. I also doubled the spices and garlic, mincing the garlic; added a bit of olive oil to make the rub stick to the roast better. I cut slits in the top of the roast and inserted more garlic slivers, and I also put a tent of foil over the roast for the first 2 hours to keep it moist. The sauce has a bit of a teriyaki taste, and no one I serve this to can seem to get enough of it! Awesome! My husband said to make sure I put the recipe in a "safe place" for repeated use! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. I normally use a 1 ½ to 2 pound pork tenderloin but I still DOUBLE the herb rub and TRIPLE the sauce. For best results do not substitute for the sage. It makes this recipe. I also use prepared minced garlic out of a jar. Much easier and I think the garlic flavor is better. Not sure were the 3 hour cooking time comes from, but it doesn’t matter. I bake in a convection oven which goes much faster. Simply use a good meat thermometer and take it out at 150 and rest covered with foil for 15 minutes. I cut into small medallions and serve over jasmine rice. Drizzle some extra sauce over the pork and rice before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This roast literally fell apart before the 3 hours were up!!! So tender. I used a roaster with a lid. I didn't have a rack to fit so I just cut up an onion in big chunks and placed under the roast. I didn't have soy sauce so I used teriyaki and I also used red wine vinegar instead of the white. I had to stop my husband from devouring the entire roast! **Note from my BH&G Cookbook** Pork cooked with bacon, spinach, tomatoes or onion will sometimes remain pink even when well done so use the meat thermometer to ensure doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Can you rate this higher than 5 stars was the question my brother asked when I served this to his family last night. we did double the glaze and used brown sugar and balsamic vinagar as suggested. I also jazzed up the rub a bit by adding onion powder and some garlic powder to the mix as well as the fresh garlic and rubbed sage. We had a 3 lb pork loin and it took about 1 1/2 hours to cook. I use an instant read themometer and it was reading 160 at the thickest part of the roast when I took it out. Don't forget to brush your glaze on during the last bit of cooking! We made gravy from the pan drippings by adding about 1 cup water and corn starch as well as adjusting the flavor with salt and pepper. You will not be disapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
delicious! my roast was 2 lb. and took about 1 hr. 45 min. to cook. i used the same amount of seasoning for my small roast, doubled the garlic, and doubled the sauce. i also substituted brown sugar for white, plus a little honey until just the sweetness i liked, and some sesame seeds. the BEST addition i made was to add some sriracha (asian chili sauce) to the sauce, and that seemed to balance it perfectly- sweet, sour, and spicy. our 2 lb. roast was gone in about 15 minutes, with 2 adults and 2 kids. i will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This was by far the best roast I have ever had! It was soooo juicy and the flavours fit perfectly! I did make some changes though just for my personal taste and for what I had onhand: - added some rosemary to the rub - used 2 tbsp. of flour instead of the 1 tbsp. of cornstarch (Betty Crocker's suggested substitution!) And I let the glaze boil a little longer so it was quite thick- I prefer a really thick glaze as opposed to a runny one! I recommend this recipe to anyone- so easy and SOOOO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
i'll admit that i was skeptical at first, but it actually turned out great! even my pork-hating husband enjoyed it. a tip for using up the leftover pork & glaze: chop up the pork, throw in a can of pineapple chunks and some chopped green pepper. add the glaze when everything's warm and then serve that mixture over cooked jasmine rice-- so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lebrun family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
I've cooked this as a roast and as tenderloin. Tenderloin is much better! I used 1lb tenderloin, kept the sauce and herb measurements the same. Changed with brown sugar and balsamic vineger. Cooked 1hr at 325. To die for! Especially over white rice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This was super easy to make & really tasted awesome. My husband LOVED it. I actually cooked it in the slow cooker. We loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA
Living In: Newburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 812) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb Roasted Pork

See how to make sage-rubbed roasted pork with a tangy glaze.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States