Herb Roasted Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Basic rub with a yummy glaze. I would reduce the baking time though, unless you want your meat to be dried out. Rule of thumb is 20 min/lb, give or take. 3 hours was too long. I pulled it out much earlier and it was still over cooked, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brsharky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
This was very good. My family really enjoyed it. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
I used this as a base for cooking a 5 lb. "pork loin rib end" (rib roast) my sister had bought for a family Easter dinner. Because people had reported varying cooking times, and because it had to be tender enough for my 90-year-old mother to chew, I opted for the slow cooker. I doubled the spices, as most recommended, rinsed the roast, patted it dry, and applied the rub. When the roast was liberally coated with spices, I had half of them left over! If people double the spices, I don't know what they do with them. No olive oil; a dry rub worked fine. I braised the roast, as I always do for the slow cooker. For the slow cooker, several observations. Unlike when basting the roast with the sauce, the slow cooker cooks the tang out of the vinegar; instead of a sweet-and-sour sauce, you'll end up with a sweet sauce. If that's not what you're after, cut the sugar in half. I used apple cider vinegar and brown sugar (half). I diced a large onion in the bottom of the pot, then diced two large apples over the onions, added the pork, and poured the sauce over it. After removing the roast, and while it was resting, I mashed the apples into the sauce, which didn't require further thickening. Since it's more of a sauce than a gravy, I served it over Near East Herb Garlic pilaf rather than potatoes. It was a huge hit. Everybody wanted the leftovers, and an hour after cleanup, my mother was still muttering about how delicious it was. Only 4 stars because I didn't follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeff
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
We loved this. The glaze, with a few suggested enhancements, were excellent. I used garlic powder, salt, pepper and sage on the pork rub. I wound up adding balsamic and I used teriyaki instead of soy sauce in the glaze. I will be making this again ASAP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I made this for Easter dinner for my family of six. Even my pickiest little one liked it. I'm glad I read the. Reviews, though; several raters suggested doubling the sauce. I did, and was glad. We used it to dip Brussels sprouts in, and even my picky little guy gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Kids & In-laws loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This was fantastic! I used a pork tenderloin and took the advice of using Balsamic vinegar and brown sugar and doubled the water for the glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
This was super simple to put together. Used brown sugar and balsamic vinegar to make 2x the sauce. The pork was put in a slow cooker for 6 hrs but think I'd like to try the oven next time. I like the leftover suggestion of adding pepper and pineapples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I love this recipe!!! I triple the sauce because my family loves it so much!! This is a regular on our menu :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
My jaw fell open when my 2 1/2 yr old asked for 2nds, then 3rds!!! This is coming from the kid who's extent of meat eating is only chicken nuggets. She told me and I quote, "Mommy, this is delicious!" Def making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 866) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb Roasted Pork

See how to make sage-rubbed roasted pork with a tangy glaze.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States