Herb-Roasted Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by grilling guerrilla
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
So healthy and flavorful did it on grill cooking times differ came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Very good and fairly easy to prepare. Only used one game hen, which fed two of us nicely. The meat was tender, juicy and tasty. My only issue was that the skin didn't crisp up as much as I'd like. Next time, and there will be one, I'll try a few minutes of broiling before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kate22
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Very YummyYummy! Had to adjust the cooking time kus I only made 2 hens. I used only Thyme for the herb and stuffed some of it in the cavities along with the lemon and onion. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CharlesSinger
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Really easy to prepare and came out crispy in the outside and very tender and juicy inside. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlesSinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
What a hit. Roasted my hens with sweet potatoes, carrots, garlic cloves, onions, and cherry tomatoes. Such a beautiful, rustic dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shtewps
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cooter g
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was a really easy recipe , it was fantastic !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooter g

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Amazing! Made for non traditional thanksgiving, next time will cut the recipe in half, one hen is enough for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I would not recommend this recipe. It cooked improperly,and due to the celery on the bottom, it braised, rather than cooked-- not something I would normally do to chicken or hens. It didn't specify which side 'up', and despite the celery, I cooked it breast side up, which left the breast at least browned, but somewhat dry. The dark meat was cooked and tasty so far as herbs, but very unappetizing looking and not remotely browned, since it was braised, rather than roasted. I wouldn't do that unless it was cooked breast side down, and turned over for browning in the last 20 mins or so. Disappointing, overall. Almost like the person who wrote down the recipe put the effort in, but forgot key aspects. I would lose the lemon inside (overkill) add more garlic (inside and outside) and use less liquid, which I believe is why it took at least 30 mins longer than the recipe stated. Seasonings were right on, but cooking methods and instructions were poor. I wouldn't ever make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Wasn't sure why I lined the dish with celery but the hens turned out great!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Southfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This is absolutely one of the best recipes I have made. I took the celery, juices, garlic, white pepper, and onions and made a sauce for the meat using a blender. I thickened it with flour & butter. I did add more chicken stock, however. This is absolutely fantastic. I usually dislike cornish hens, but no more. I think this is a brilliant idea to cook meat on celery and add all these herbs. Thank you to chef, who thought of this idea. A wonderful treat! Make the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States